30 - wish I didn't.

I back-ordered a domain name with around a month after it expired (discovered it by accident while bothering to read whois info).

Went with because of the many nice reviews from this forum, " is the best", etc.

Well, after got the domain, they notified me via email that I must enter my credit card info because of their new policy: All new users must now enter their credit card info or their account will be suspended. Fair enough.

As expected, then notified me that my domain was now available, but because others were also interested, I should login to the auction. I can't help but wonder how "others" became so interested since I only ordered it with two weeks ago. I mean, how did they find out?!?!? And if they had their eye on this domain, why they didn't back-order it first.

Nevertheless, I login and am happy to see that there are no other bidders. Whoopee, the domain is mine!!! 2 hours and 10 minutes to go. Okay, I've never done this before so maybe I'm naive, but I want to share my experience anyways.

I cheerfully carry on with my daily chores, fantasizing about my new corporate identity for my new domain name. It was a great 2 hours.

I then get an email from to inform me that I have been outbid by $10 and not to "miss out on the domain name I backordered! Click the link below to update my Maximum Bid now!"

Gee thanks. I logged in again only to find out that the auction had ended and that the domain had sold for $775. When was that email coming? It never did.

In sum, I may be inexperienced with this whole auction thing, but I have to say that I've had better experiences waiting for a domain name to drop and registering it myself, and this is coming from someone that has no knowledge of the process, methods, etc. Most of all, I can't shake this feeling that had I not ordered this domain with, there would have been no "others".

What do you think? Am I just a sour loser or is there some truth to my suspicion?

Kathmandu, Nepal