hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting Talk Tutorials : Hosting Software and Control Panels Tutorials : Form Based cPanel Login (after IE fix) - cPanel 9.x or higher only
Reply

Forum Jump

Form Based cPanel Login (after IE fix) - cPanel 9.x or higher only

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Software and Control Panels Tutorials Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2004, 09:44 AM
Loon Loon is online now
Community Liaison 2.0
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,549

Form Based cPanel Login (after IE fix)


As you know because of a recent IE patch the old form based cPanel logins directing to a url such as http://user:password@domain.com no longer work for most people.

cPanel have added a built in form to cPanel 9.0 so you just need to send the values "user" and "pass" to that form and away you go.

You can post the values to any of the following:

http://yourdomain.com:2082/login/ (cPanel)
https://yourdomain.com:2083/login/ (secure cPanel)

http://yourdomain.com:2095/login/ (webmail)
https://yourdomain.com:2096/login/ (secure webmail)


Here's a little script you're welcome to use if you like, that gives people the choice of all four logins.

1. save this as cplogin.php (edit the line with your domain or ip)

PHP Code:
<html>
<?php

  
#your domain or ip
  
$domain "yourdomain.com";

   if(!
$_POST['login']) {
   exit;
   }

   
$user $_POST['user'];
   
$pass $_POST['pass'];
   
$port $_POST['port'];

   
$port == "2083" || $port == "2096" $pre "https://" $pre "http://";
?>
<body onLoad="setTimeout('document.forms[0].submit();',10)">
<form action="<?php echo "".$pre."".$domain.":".$port."/login/"?>" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="user" value="<?php echo $user?>">
<input type="hidden" name="pass" value="<?php echo $pass?>">
</form>
</body>
</html>
2. Then the form to use on your site

Code:
<form action="cplogin.php" method="post">
<table cellspacing="4" cellpadding="0">
 <tr><td>Username:</td><td><input type="text" name="user"></td></tr>
 <tr><td>Password:</td><td><input type="password" name="pass"></td></tr>
 <tr><td>Login To:</td>
 <td align="right">
 <select name="port">
 <option value="2082">cPanel</option>
 <option value="2083">Secure cPanel</option>
 <option value="2095">Webmail</option>
 <option value="2096">Secure Webmail</option>
 </select>
 </td></tr>
 <tr><td align="right" colspan="2">
 <input type="submit" name="login" value="login" style="cursor:pointer">
 </td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
This should work for most browsers, but remember you need to be running cPanel 9.0 or above.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-2004, 12:20 PM
Sheps Sheps is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 2,901
login.php also works on most CPanel installations.

Give me a couple hours to get home, and I will approve this.

  #3  
Old 03-11-2004, 06:16 AM
odsdc odsdc is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
hi,does this script work in cpanel 8 ? (the one you posted) I can't get it to work

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-11-2004, 08:03 AM
Loon Loon is online now
Community Liaison 2.0
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,549
Re: Form Based cPanel Login (after IE fix)

Quote:
Originally posted by Loon
remember you need to be running cPanel 9.0 or above.
It will not work in versions prior to 9.0

  #5  
Old 03-12-2004, 03:03 AM
Akash Akash is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 7,147
Thanks

  #6  
Old 03-12-2004, 09:00 AM
Loon Loon is online now
Community Liaison 2.0
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,549
A little update that somebody requested.

If you add this line in cplogin.php below the line that starts $post == "2083" then people can login to webmail accounts without having to put the full domain name:

e.g: somebody with john@somereallylongdomain.com can just put the username as "john" or use "john@somereallylongdomain.com" either will work, currently you need to use name@domain.com

PHP Code:
$port == "2095" || $port == "2096" && !eregi("@"$user) ? $user "".$user."@".$domain."" $user $user
* edit, it's one line copy + paste, the forum breaks it into two.

  #7  
Old 03-13-2004, 03:39 AM
iquest iquest is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 35
Hi Loon, I tried to install your script and it didn't work. I am using cPanel - 9.1.0-RELEASE 52. It takes me to a page "Access Denied" with a form for login where I can type my user name and password. But typing username and password in the 'Access denied" form is not a good way to go. I am hoping to get some lead from you...

Thank you in advance

  #8  
Old 03-13-2004, 06:31 AM
Loon Loon is online now
Community Liaison 2.0
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,549
There's no reason it shouldn't work, it'll take you to an access denied page if you have the username or pass wrong, just the same as it would logging in the regular way.

If you're trying to log into webmail you need to use username@domain.com as the username unless you made the edit and added the extra line i posted.

Other than that just double check you have the domain right in cplogin.php and make sure there's no http:// or www at the beginging.

  #9  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:32 PM
iquest iquest is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 35
Hi Loon, thank you for your reply. I can create a new account with IP address and you can find it by yourself. I tried many different ways but nothing seems to work. Please email me at: infoquest@bellsouth.net. I will send you the new accounts details in reply of your email.

  #10  
Old 04-13-2004, 08:21 AM
Bytecon Bytecon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2
Are you sure you changed the domain variable??

Someone requested this change over at the cpanel forums.

Quote:
One small question, how can we change it so that customers have to enter their domain name? Many of our customers have their own IP.
Change the code to this :

EDIT : I'm not allowed to post urls so to show you the code I've attached a text file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt login.txt (1.5 KB, 1171 views)

  #11  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:21 AM
Coolmarve Coolmarve is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Hey, I love this script, but when i use it on my site, its takes a second for the wrong password screen to pop up but takes like 3 minutes to load when they use the right passwords, im using cpanel 9.4.1 does anyone knw what to do?

  #12  
Old 07-08-2004, 07:06 AM
perritoz perritoz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 0
hi i did this its works great but itts there a way, that you can hide the domaininsede the code?

I mean to eliminate the form of the domain and have it automaticall inside the code..

thx

  #13  
Old 07-24-2004, 12:26 AM
bauer bauer is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
ok,thanks

  #14  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:19 PM
BusX BusX is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 54
Very nice easy to use code, thanks for sharing!

__________________
Contact:
E-Mail: Matt@Harbus.Net

  #15  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:49 AM
Bashar Bashar is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 10,572
change this line if u want to add WHM for cplogin.php
from
PHP Code:
$port == "2083" || $port == "2096" $pre "https://" $pre "http://"
to
PHP Code:
   $port == "2083" || $port == "2096" || $port == "2087" $pre "https://" $pre "http://"
and
in the html file add those options
Code:
 <option value="2086">WHM</option>
 <option value="2087">Secure WHM /option>

__________________
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
WHMCS Releases Version 5.2 of Web Hosting Billing Solution Web Hosting News 2013-04-14 22:35:37
SSHD Rootkit in the Wild Blog 2013-02-22 16:44:08
cPanel Releases cPanel, WHM 11.34 with New User Interface Web Hosting News 2012-10-16 13:09:49
cPanel Conference 2012: Branding and How to Do it Better with Felipe Gasper Web Hosting News 2012-10-09 18:00:02
cPanel Conference 2012: What's New with cPanel and WHM with Ken Power Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 13:54:56


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?