Hiding in a corner all of a sudden

Hi everyone,

After being with *shivers* cihost for over 2 years I want to move over to servermatrix because of bandwidth issues. However, after spending the past 5 hours reading through the forums and the forums at servermatrix I'm beginning to think that their dedicated servers are left in the dark and all the responsibility for securing them and making sure they run properly come down to me.

With my current host I've never really had to do anything except check the server load occasionally, kill certain processes and restart apache, but it seems like the servers at SM are stripped naked and I'd have to install all the security apps and added modules. I'm no Linux expert (I can learn), but how much hard work would I have to do just to make sure the server is up and running as it should?

And just as an aside, which version of Linux would you recommend I opt for? I've got 7.3 on my current host, but SM offer 9 and Enterprise 3.

Would appreciate any views.

Thanks.

Between 7.3 and 9.0 I definitely choose 7.3, you'll get the a few people telling you otherwise due to the remaining 50 days to EOL, but for in my experience 7.3 is more compatible with various software (e.g. grSecurity PAX) and has caused us much less trouble.

But between 7.3 and Enterprise I'd probably recommend Enterprise since you'll have the continued updates from RedHat, which you can install with up2date, I think this would suit you.

You'll get a few server administrator individuals/companies posting shortly telling you to hire an administrator with their signatures advertising exactly that (time for crack down). But SM do provide security updates and offer their own managed services perhaps you'd be better to look into them.

I agree with MattF, 7.3 is best, I still run it on most servers and will continue to do so despite the EOL approaching, I will move to RHE in time.