Thread: Canaca

I joined in late December mainly because of the incredible prices.
    ... but also because my previous host was not returning my calls or emails for support.
    10 gig of space
    40 gig of bandwidth
    $7.95 per month

I am a wedding photographer and I post all my weddings for online viewing.

Last year my average month with my previous host was 1 gig of space / 20 gig of bandwidth and I paid 10x times Canaca (with no support – although used to have great support)

BUT ---- Today I reviewed my statistics for the two first months with Canaca.

It says 105 gigs of bandwidth for Jan and 95 for Feb.

HOW could that be?

Nothing has changed on my site. I uploaded all of my site in December and the wedding season is slow in the winter – thus you would think my stats would be lower than normal.

In the "Terms" it says I must pay $6 per gig over (that owuld be 300+ per month They haven’t sent me anything yet but I’m sure they will?

My question for all you experts – is it possible for them to manipulate these stats?

What sounds too good, it probably isn't. I have had experieces with some hosts that would manually (I think) change your usage to make you buy extra bandwidth, etc.

checking your alexa rating may help, see if it has gone very high then your website is getting more visitors.

New York City
    Have you tried contacting them? That would be the first thing to do.
    █• CirtexHosting • Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
    █• LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
    █• HostV VPS • Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
    █• We transfer your sites over quickly! • I eat penguins for breakfast ...

I guess I was afraid that contacting them would bring it to their attention. Then again each day this goes up I owe more.
    Last edited by Boston_Dar; 03-05-2004 at 10:19 PM.

Vancouver, BC