what are the basics i should look for in a new host?

i'm a newb. the only hosts i've used are geocities, freeservers, and netstartz. now that i'm free to look for a new host i have no idea what to look for. i have no idea what the difference between linux and windows are with respect to hosting. from what i've been able to tell, if you run a site that needs databases (ie forums and what not) i think that you'd need a linux server. but that's just my instinct. i saw someone talk about how hosts that use 2checkout are substandard? i have no idea. what's the need for dedicated servers? do i need that to run a small webpage that only my friends visit?

i'm sorry for all the questions, but the answers will be extremely appreciated. thanks!

You don't need a dedicated server.

For a small site that a few friends will visit you will probably need 50-300mb of disk space and 1-3gb transfer.
    You should be able to find this with a reliable host in the $3.00/month range.
    Search around this forum and don't make a quick decision especially if the deal looks too good to be true.
    Sometimes less is more.

Re: what are the basics i should look for in a new host?

Originally posted by panopticonis
    i'm a newb. the only hosts i've used are geocities, freeservers, and netstartz. now that i'm free to look for a new host i have no idea what to look for. i have no idea what the difference between linux and windows are with respect to hosting. from what i've been able to tell, if you run a site that needs databases (ie forums and what not) i think that you'd need a linux server. but that's just my instinct. i saw someone talk about how hosts that use 2checkout are substandard? i have no idea. what's the need for dedicated servers? do i need that to run a small webpage that only my friends visit?

i'm sorry for all the questions, but the answers will be extremely appreciated. thanks!
    Welcome to the forums, panopticonis!