Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383

    Good screen capture utility?

    I am looking for a video utility that will capture the video on my screen so I can make it into a .avi or a .wmv

    It is currently a "Rhapsody Playlist" not even sure as to what its extension is because it doesn't show =|

  2. #2
    ******** - ASP, ASP.NET. Windows 2008 Hosting - Windows Reseller Plans

    1 Exabyte = two to the sixtieth power byte, 1,152,921,504,606,846,976 bytes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    9,852
    I second CamStudio.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383
    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383
    Download link = broken =|

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383
    Now I've found it and tried it. WOW! The fps is trash on this, atleast 6 seconds difference on audio and video. Anyone know how I can make the fps much better and more "swift" ?

  7. #7
    Use RoboDemo5 maybe?

    Best,
    Eugene.
    IWDN - Really smart web developers... and me!
    More than any time in history mankind faces a crossroads.
    One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness, the other to total extinction.
    Let us pray that we have the wisdom to choose correctly.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,026
    Originally posted by Foladar
    Now I've found it and tried it. WOW! The fps is trash on this, atleast 6 seconds difference on audio and video. Anyone know how I can make the fps much better and more "swift" ?
    Two processors
    Gone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383
    No thanks, not going to blow all that cash over a program like this. Two processors isn't required.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,026
    Two processors are needed if you want something smooth. The first processor will handle the playback and the second will handle the recording.
    Gone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    844
    Very true...

    But, why do you need it so much? And how fast is your comp?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Posts
    383
    I have an AMD XP 1100+, but if I don't want to purchase a program, why would I want to purchase a whole new PC setup?

    I just want a decent FPS, doesn't have to be smooth.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,670
    Good luck Foladar...I have yet to find a capture tool that works well for video. The programs such as Camtasia and Robodemo are good for tutorials and the like, but not for video.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,026
    Looks like you are out of luck foladar.

    Because decoding video is such a processor intensive task, the video will most likely use a lot of CPU cycles as well as hard disk I/O. Therefore the capture program will only be able to "snap" frames occasionally, unless it has its own processor, in which case it will be able to snap almost every one. Some fast SCSI or SATA hard disks would help too.... but if you're not willing to spend, there is no solution.

    You might be able to improve performance a little BYsetting the software not to compress the video - this uses more CPU.
    Gone.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •