Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    68

    multiple domains 1 host how done?

    If I have say 3 domains and a host lets you set up more than 1 domain in that account, how is this done-each domain is pointed to same dns and into distinct folders?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    <<Canada>>
    Posts
    734
    you have point domain first
    then you can add them Addon Domain.
    <<< Please see Forum Guidelines for signature setup. >>>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hanoi
    Posts
    4,306
    Yes, add on domains, but make sure that your hosting provider enable that feature for you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    You shouldn't accept 'Add-on Domains' as Multiple Domain Hosting. It isn't true Multiple Domain Hosting. However, 'Add-on Domains' is the tool that will allow you to point domains into sub-directories of an account on a cPanel server though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    68
    Do these subdirectories enable a domain name URL to be typed directly into a browser and to display the domain name itself, not as a subdomain URL?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    Yes, rak147. Each domain will have its own directory and will appear to function just like a normal domain.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    122
    The difference between addon domain and true multi domain hosting (if you have Cpanel) is that the addon domain uses from the same resources as your main domain (data transfer/databases etc.), does not get its own email accounts or control panel. You do get subdomain logs but you have to download them and analyze them on your computer.
    Good Web Hosting Info - Information about web hosting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •