Nameserver, A records, MX records???

I'm very confused. I'm also new to all this. Here is what happened:

1. I took over as caretaker of a nonprofit's domain name that is registered though Network Solutions. The actual site is being hosted on the home computer of one of the members, who was the primary contact before me, and also had the domain in his name. He transferred the domain name of the organization, with me as the Contact.

2. Then I was supposed to find a commercial hosting service, modify the site and upload it to the new host, and then make a change in the control panel at Network Solutions so the URL takes people to the new host and new site.

I got all the way to just before making the change in the control panel. And then I got very confused, because it gives choices I never heard of.

One choice is to change the name server. The other choice is to change the A record and the MX record. It also mentions some other things, but right now I'm concerned about getting the url pointed at the new place, and email working at the new place. And the instructions implied that if I changed nameservers, I would not have the same control via the control panel, or something sounding like that. And that I should change the A records and MX records, which I have never heard of anyone doing.

Can someone help me understand this and make the right choice.

Christchurch, New Zealand
    If everything is hosted on one server you probably won't have to modify the A or MX records.

The only reason you would have to change these would be if you are using seperate providers for email or the website.

Your new Host should of given you his nameservers to direct your domain to.

Log into your Domain Manager at the registera and Change nameservers to his and save!

Dns will then take 24 to 72 hours to propagate to his server and your site will be active. Most times within 24 hours.