SM- controlpanel/mysql/apache/etc. etc.

I am getting ready to jump to dedicated. I have been eyeing SM, and it looks good.

I am a bit confused on their s/w offering:
    -do they provide a box pre-done with apache, mysql, php, etc. or is this *special request*?

Do I need cpanel/whm for $20 extra a month. What does that do for me?

Do I need FloodGuard, another extra $.

Is there adequate security included in the basic (silver) package?

Please let me know. All these *extras* start to add-up quickly.

Also, I can do some admin but as a newbie, I like to avoid that as much as possible. Are their hgher priced support levels what I need, or do I need to go to outside services?

Really appreciate your help,

ServerMatrix servers come all ready to go with apache, mysql, php all running.

Cpanel/WHM is required only for managing customers if you intend selling hosting accounts, although it would be recomended if you know little about server management. It depends on what your going to do with the server.

Whether or not you need any other options is again all dependant on what you are using the server for, can you post a bit more info.

Hi, L. Wisener, you have been of help to me in the past, and continue so. Your contribution to this board is VERY IMPORTANT.

I need to do *basic* hosting, nothing complicated, no reselling, basically hosting a number of domains (heavy on forums).

I keep hearing about hacking attempts, dos attacks, etc. etc. I am just wondering if SM keeps their servers up to date with the silver service. I really don't want to spend a lot of time on sysadmin.

Do I need floodGuard?

p.s. Actually SM is offering a promo with cpanel/whm provided free, which is nice.

i would say that cpanel makes running a server much easyer because it automates things for you like
    adding accounts/domains/email
    and backups