Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    204

    multiple reseller accounts and nameservers....

    Ok, I've had this question burning at me. I'm working out a business plan, and with growth, I want to have multiple reseller accounts at different DC's.

    What has been bugging me is how I would handle nameservers. Yes, I should take care of it when the time comes, but I'd like to know now

    Say I have mycompany.com, and ns1/2.mycompany.com w/ resellerA.

    i get an account at resellerB... can I have ns3/4.mycompany.com.....

    Although, I don't believe that works since ns3/4/5 is suppose to be for redundancy, right?

    As you can, I'm not quite a server guru... and would like to try to understand how this would work

    Or.... is this just an overly complicated idea? Am I nuts? heh

    Linh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,616
    It's no problem to setup ns1.domain.com - nsX.domain.com. You can have any number of nameserver domains.

    As long as you set each one up at your registrar with the correct IP address and alter the dns zone for your domain things will be fine. All you do then is have all domains in reseller account A set to ns1/2 and all those in reseller account B to ns3/4.
    Clook Internet - www.clook.net
    Fully managed UK based webhosting provider
    Est 2002, 24/7 phone support, all the bells and whistles!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    204
    I would take it that I would have to make sure who ever I have a reseller account with uses the right names when setting up the nameservers then.

    And would resellerB need a domain? I guess this is more of a WHM question, can I sign up a reseller account w/o a domain name... not sure if I'm getting across what I'm tryign to ask...


    Thanks
    Linh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,616
    Most panels will require a domain when setting up the reseller account but most should accept a 'dummy domain' (one which isn't real).

    Just tell your host for reseller account B to setup the account with a dummy domain and to use ns3/4.domain.com. Next, edit the dns zone of your domain to add the A records for your additional nameservers, create them at your registrar and you're all set
    Clook Internet - www.clook.net
    Fully managed UK based webhosting provider
    Est 2002, 24/7 phone support, all the bells and whistles!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    112
    Good to know for the future.
    DStar

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    204
    excellent. thanks very much Jim.

  7. #7
    Although, you may run into a problem where if your main reseller account is down. Then the rest of your DNS entries may not work. So make sure you can backup DNS entries elsewhere.
    Adnan.
    FusionRays.com
    Shared and Reseller Plans

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •