My head is spinning from doing homework on web hosting. Thank goodness I found a forum with what appears to be savvy web vets.

I'm a newbie who is just trying to get a web hosting package that will allow my humble part-time rock band to make our original material and short clips of live performances available for streaming. The songs are just under 2M in .rm format. We're just a medium fish in a medium pond and I'm not even sure how many hits we get a month because we currently use Netfirms freebie hosting and they yanked webstats for freebies (most of the hits on our counter are me verifying updates!). Our current transfer rates without the streaming content is about 400M per month. So assuming that each stream would count 2M against our transfer rate we should still be in good shape even with only 2G of transfer. I think it would take a significant number of streams to put us over 2G (~800 streams). I'm not exactly sure if this is an accurate way of projecting transfer data so I'd appreciate a sanity check by the experienced folks here. Does this sound right?

Furthermore, I'm not necessarily dissatisfied with Netfirms so I'm considering the ol' If-It-Ain't-Broke-Don't-Fix-It factor. Yet it seems there are other hosts that offer more for the same or a little bit more money than the $5 Netfirms charges for their Plus package 50M/2G.

That being said, has anyone had experience with any of the following:
    ehostone - $5/500M/40G
    made2own - $5.50/300M/30G
    hostonce - I've seen many conflicting responses re: Hostonce so I don't know what to think about them although they have what seems to be a solid offering for $7 and come recommended from a friend at work who has used them for a couple years now.

Sorry for the long post and if you got this far thanks for your patience.

Well, remember that you get what you pay for.