hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : which noc?
Reply

Dedicated Server Current and past experiences with dedicated server providers, bandwidth, and server performance. Review managed and unmanaged dedicated web servers, discuss both Windows and Unix dedicated server solutions, and discuss dedicated hosting providers. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

which noc?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:04 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
Who knows what noc http://www.hg2vision.com resides at?
IP : 63.115.87.37 , thanks in advance for your help
I can it as far as UUNET.

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:08 PM
Annette Annette is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,584
Query for hg2vision.com type=255 class=1
hg2vision.com SOA (Zone of Authority)
Primary NS: ns1speedlinkhosting.com

whois -h whois.opensrs.net speedlinkhosting.com ...
Registrant:
Speedlinkhosting
p.o.box 198563
State College, PA 16801
US

Domain Name: SPEEDLINKHOSTING.COM

Administrative Contact:
Jones, Bob bobjonew@hotmail.com
p.o.box 198563
State College, PA 16801
US
1-347-412-6664

Technical Contact:
Jones, Bob bobjonew@hotmail.com
p.o.box 198563
State College, PA 16801
US
1-347-412-6664

Billing Contact:
Jones, Bob bobjonew@hotmail.com
p.o.box 198563
State College, PA 16801
US
1-347-412-6664


Record last updated on 08-Oct-2000.
Record expires on 12-Sep-2001.
Record Created on 12-Sep-2000.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.SPEEDLINKHOSTING.COM 63.115.87.61
NS2.SPEEDLINKHOSTING.COM 63.115.87.62

Trying 63.115.87 at ARIN
The Publishing Place (NETBLK-UU-63-115-87) UU-63-115-87
63.115.87.0 - 63.115.87.127

The Publishing Place (NETBLK-UU-63-115-87)
5560 Bee Ridge Rd. D-2
Sarasota, FL 34232
US

Netname: UU-63-115-87
Netblock: 63.115.87.0 - 63.115.87.127

Coordinator:
Keller, Jason (JK907-ARIN) newcvids@aol.com
(347.412.6664) -

Record last updated on 23-Aug-2000.
Database last updated on 6-Oct-2000 18:44:45 EDT.

__________________
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
Superior service. Sensible price.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:18 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
thanks Anette, but my problem is speedlinking.com doesnt resolve and I was hoping to find out which NOC speedlinking and hg2vision are residing. Any guess?

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:34 PM
Annette Annette is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,584
Unfortunately, no. hg2vision and speedlinkhosting both give me unknown host errors using various nameserver lookups, and neither will come up. The netblock they're on, in fact, seems to be dead, as nothing on it comes up. How'd you run across them, anyhow?

__________________
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
Superior service. Sensible price.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:41 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
Tons of spam!
if you use http://www.hg2vision.com it will come up but not without the http://www. , speed;inking I just came across searching the DNS as you did above. There is another one, http://www.priprod.com/prod/index.html , but again its a tricky one, each and every email orginates from a different name all of which are as well hidden as these two sites. Nothing resolves anywhere. I would really love to get these bastards and even prosecute them. How can we have their sites IP sent to the spam gods that kill subnets?

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:48 PM
Annette Annette is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,584
Ah. http://www.hg2vision doesn't come up for me here (using Bellsouth), so either they've dropped it or can't resolve it due to whatever problem is involved with speedlinkhosting.com not resolving.

Regarding email spam (not Usenet spam): spamcop.net is your answer. You have to register, bu it's free. Go there, paste in the headers, a blank line, then the message, and tell it to process the spam and show you the technical data (so you can see what it's done wih it). It will also file the spam report for you. Easy, no fuss.

Also, check out http://www.spamhaus.org/ and the interesting item about UUNET apparently not having any issue with stealth spammers.

[Edited by Annette on 10-08-2000 at 12:54 PM]

__________________
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
Superior service. Sensible price.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2000, 12:56 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
Thanks Anette, you've been most helpful.

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2000, 01:13 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
Thannks agian Annette, using spamcop.net I was able to send the messages where I needed to. Get this one of the spam messages orginates from uu.net, which is listed right on http://www.spamhaus.org/ as an offender so Im not sure how much help I'll get on that one. I can not beleive what uunet is doing!!! Ridiculous

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2000, 08:06 PM
BC BC is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: 80,000 feet under the sur
Posts: 2,736
Jag,

Many hosts is in a similar situation to UUNet, either through ignorance, 'can't be bothered' attitude or a plain lack of tech knowledge.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2000, 08:37 PM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
What the net needs is an organization that can over see the works of all isp's. Like the NRA control over guns, the should be some council that can enforce a set of net rules and regulations. How could we go about founding such an organization and getting some backing by the states and/ or feds?

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-09-2000, 01:17 AM
Annette Annette is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,584
Doubtful that such a thing could be created. Quite a few hosts that turn a blind eye to spam, for instance, are not US-based, and therefore laws created here wouldn't do squat. We in the US, and our elected congresscritters, sometimes like to believe that we are the center of the entire universe, but there's quite a diverse world out there.

The best justice are some of the tools in place: RBL, for instance. I know some guerilla geeks who make it their mission in life to cause as much mayhem for those types of (spam haven) companies as is possible - mailbombing them with complaints, setting up rogue blocking on packets idented as theirs, etc. They say the ends justify the means, but of course that particular opinion is an individual one.

BTW, the NRA does not have any particular "control" over guns - they just happen to have the largest lobbying group on gun-related issues.

__________________
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
Superior service. Sensible price.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-09-2000, 01:44 AM
Jag Jag is offline
CEO - JaguarPC
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,206
Well you get my point about the NRA, i know they dont control anything

__________________
Hosting solutions provider since 1998 - Serving over 130 countries!
JaguarPC.com - Managed web hosting | Managed vps hosting | Dedicated servers
Resellerzoom.com - Reseller specialist | Cloud Reseller hosting | cPanel cloud Hosting

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?