Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 64

Thread: Linux Users

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Félix,

    I've conducted tests (for a proof of concept) on the last beta of Win2K advanced server on some very nice kit lent to us from Compaq (dual PIII Xeons, 1Gb RAM, load balanced across 3 servers) running at approx. 80-90% use (courtesy of RadView) for about 30 days before I switched them off (had to return the servers, so unfortunately didn't find out how long for). I think thats pretty good performance. NT on the other hand was a different story.....
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  2. #47
    I heard the word XEON here... you just doubled the price

    For the same hardware, linux does better.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Why put a fiesta engine in the chassis of a ferrari? Xeons don't double the price, sure they add to it, but not quite double. Xeons are optimised for the server environment, like the new PIII steppers (can't remember their real name) are optimised for laptops. Horses for courses....
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  4. #49
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Kunal,

    I would personally recommend buying a second hard drive to install Linux on if you're going to dual boot. Hard Drives are so cheap right now and it's the best way to go.

    I have installed Linux (RedHat and Mandrake) several times, and one time it wiped out my FAT (File Allocation Table) and I lost my windows partition.

    For an easy install I would recommend Linux Mandrake 7.1 +. It's optimized (or compiled) for Pentium class processors and performs better (not much, but better) than RedHat and it's %99 RedHat compatible. If you were logged into a Mandrake system you'd swear it was RedHat. But the Mandrake install is very, very, very easy. It has a begginner feature where it will automatically make your partitions for you and autoconfigure almost everything.

    Or, go find yourself an old computer for $100 bucks and use that to install Linux on.

  5. #50
    Originally posted by inwks
    Why put a fiesta engine in the chassis of a ferrari? Xeons don't double the price, sure they add to it, but not quite double. Xeons are optimised for the server environment, like the new PIII steppers (can't remember their real name) are optimised for laptops. Horses for courses....
    Well, we just quoted the price of a PIII dual XEON 800 MHZ and it was not double but a lot more expensive than the equivalent PIII dual 800 MHZ

    Of course the XEON does better, but my point here was not about the computer itself... but about the fact that on the same hardware configuration, Linux does better than Unix, which does better than win2k, which does better than win NT

    The usage of linux's system is so low that on our servers, before they were installed, on the dual CPU, the load was:
    0.02% and 0.00% (dual 700 mhz) with all the needed services opened but not serving content.

    Start win2k and you aready have a 20% used on both.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Well something must be wrong with your config, I'm more than happy to run perfmon and post the results.
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  7. #52
    go ahead, I'm curious.
    post your system specs and usage when the server has every neede service up but idle.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Pleasure, but you'll have to wait until I get to work tomorrow (I'm a consultant, don't run a hosting company)
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  9. #54
    one issue we didnt adressed... SECURITY.
    Get your watch, and time the time it takes to MS to fix a bug and time the Linux gurus.

    here is an example:
    "A hacker found exploits in NASDAQ server, could have changed market info and admin passwds. Server: IIS. Hacker did ethical job of providing info to fix. Also, mentions BugTraq and how MS didn't fix the hole when it was posted July 17. "
    July 17th and it is still not fixed??

    now, see a bug one day on ANY distribution of linux and the day after you have a solution.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991

    Smile

    At my highschool we received sponsorship from MS. The network consists of well over 100 workstations. The entire network is firewalled/masqed/and proxied. By a single Linux box. Oh yeah and not too mention it also acts as a reverse cacheing proxy/firewall for our win2k servers.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Felix brought up another excellent point, and that's the ability of the Linux community to reponded quickly to bugs, security issues, etc...

    You will never wait longer than 2 days for a fix. This is something that no Unix flavour or MS OS can offer.

  12. #57
    Originally posted by tabernack
    Kunal,

    I would personally recommend buying a second hard drive to install Linux on if you're going to dual boot. Hard Drives are so cheap right now and it's the best way to go.
    Wouldnt this make me remove one and insert the other one whenever I wanna switch between the OS? Or can I just go into the BIOS settings and not detect the other one? Also, wouldnt linux detect the system to be a raid by doing something like this???
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Not here
    Posts
    1,437
    No. Most cases have room for at least 2 hard drives. You would simply choose which one to boot from. There would likely be no need to continually have to tinker with your BIOS settings.

    RAID is much more than multiple disks, so your answer to that question is no also.
    Techcellence - Business Specialists and Information Resource
    http://techcellence.net

    Information on selecting a host and other things related to an Internet presence at http://techcellence.net/information

  14. #59
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Kunal,

    you can have several hard drives with several different os's on one pc. But you can only have one Master Drive which has the boot loader (in the master boot record).

    They key here is to have a boot loader (like Linux's boot loader LILO) that allows you to specify multiple OS's and where they are located.

    So what happens is when I install Linux (on a dual boot machine) I also install LILO in the master boot record (this overwrites the NT Loader or the Win9x loader). The linux installation allows you to specify which other OS's you have and where they are located. This information is stored in a config file called lilo.conf on your Linux partition.

    So when you turn on your computer, Lilo is started and you get to choose which OS you want to run.

    The great thing about Lilo (like anything in Linux) is that it's completely under YOUR control.

    At one point when I only had 1 PC, I had Win NT, Win98, and Linux on 2 hard drives (1 drive for the windows OS's) and 1 for Linux. I simply selected the OS I wanted to boot with using Lilo.

    Very simple, once you've used it a couple of times.

    Linux Mandrake uses a different bootloader than Lilo, but it's essentially the same.

  15. #60
    Ah. Now I get it. Thanx
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •