Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 64 of 64

Thread: Linux Users

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Well something must be wrong with your config, I'm more than happy to run perfmon and post the results.
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  2. #52
    go ahead, I'm curious.
    post your system specs and usage when the server has every neede service up but idle.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Pleasure, but you'll have to wait until I get to work tomorrow (I'm a consultant, don't run a hosting company)
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  4. #54
    one issue we didnt adressed... SECURITY.
    Get your watch, and time the time it takes to MS to fix a bug and time the Linux gurus.

    here is an example:
    "A hacker found exploits in NASDAQ server, could have changed market info and admin passwds. Server: IIS. Hacker did ethical job of providing info to fix. Also, mentions BugTraq and how MS didn't fix the hole when it was posted July 17. "
    July 17th and it is still not fixed??

    now, see a bug one day on ANY distribution of linux and the day after you have a solution.
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991

    Smile

    At my highschool we received sponsorship from MS. The network consists of well over 100 workstations. The entire network is firewalled/masqed/and proxied. By a single Linux box. Oh yeah and not too mention it also acts as a reverse cacheing proxy/firewall for our win2k servers.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Felix brought up another excellent point, and that's the ability of the Linux community to reponded quickly to bugs, security issues, etc...

    You will never wait longer than 2 days for a fix. This is something that no Unix flavour or MS OS can offer.

  7. #57
    Originally posted by tabernack
    Kunal,

    I would personally recommend buying a second hard drive to install Linux on if you're going to dual boot. Hard Drives are so cheap right now and it's the best way to go.
    Wouldnt this make me remove one and insert the other one whenever I wanna switch between the OS? Or can I just go into the BIOS settings and not detect the other one? Also, wouldnt linux detect the system to be a raid by doing something like this???
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Not here
    Posts
    1,437
    No. Most cases have room for at least 2 hard drives. You would simply choose which one to boot from. There would likely be no need to continually have to tinker with your BIOS settings.

    RAID is much more than multiple disks, so your answer to that question is no also.
    Techcellence - Business Specialists and Information Resource
    http://techcellence.net

    Information on selecting a host and other things related to an Internet presence at http://techcellence.net/information

  9. #59
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Kunal,

    you can have several hard drives with several different os's on one pc. But you can only have one Master Drive which has the boot loader (in the master boot record).

    They key here is to have a boot loader (like Linux's boot loader LILO) that allows you to specify multiple OS's and where they are located.

    So what happens is when I install Linux (on a dual boot machine) I also install LILO in the master boot record (this overwrites the NT Loader or the Win9x loader). The linux installation allows you to specify which other OS's you have and where they are located. This information is stored in a config file called lilo.conf on your Linux partition.

    So when you turn on your computer, Lilo is started and you get to choose which OS you want to run.

    The great thing about Lilo (like anything in Linux) is that it's completely under YOUR control.

    At one point when I only had 1 PC, I had Win NT, Win98, and Linux on 2 hard drives (1 drive for the windows OS's) and 1 for Linux. I simply selected the OS I wanted to boot with using Lilo.

    Very simple, once you've used it a couple of times.

    Linux Mandrake uses a different bootloader than Lilo, but it's essentially the same.

  10. #60
    Ah. Now I get it. Thanx
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  11. #61
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    No Problem,

    I ordered my Linux CD's from http://www.cheapbytes.com for only about $3/cd

    The last order I got was the *BSD package which came with OpenBSD 2.6, NetBSD 1.4.2, and FreeBSD 4.0. It came to $15 plus shipping of $5.

    Some people will tell you to just download it. I've tried several times and every time my download was corrupt. Not mention the fact that you need a burner and a blank CD. It's just easier to order them since they're so inexpensive.

    Good luck!

  12. #62
    Well, I am in India. I dun think they would ship here. Anyways, I can get the same for 200Rs. including shipping
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  13. #63
    Originally posted by tabernack

    Some people will tell you to just download it. I've tried several times and every time my download was corrupt. Not mention the fact that you need a burner and a blank CD. It's just easier to order them since they're so inexpensive.
    I burned Slackware 7, RH 6.2 and RH 6 on different occasions without any problems.

    It downloaded nice and fast, took approximately 1 hour from the click to download to the CD burned.

    No problems at all... you may want to check your ISO program maybe?
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  14. #64
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    214
    Felix,

    That assumes you have decent bandwidth and/or you want to use up your customer's bandwidth to download. If you're on anything less than xDSL, its cheaper to buy the media (Amazon have RH7 for about 100GBP for professional server, 30GBP for bog standard), and you get the manuals as well!

    PS. Results for idle is:

    "(PDH-CSV 4.0)","\\CADWELL\Processor(_Total)\% Processor Time"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:38.150","8.999914475850744"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:39.151","6.9999999999999947"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:40.153","4.0000000000000036"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:41.154","4.000000000000002"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:42.156","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:43.157","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:44.158","2.0000000000000018"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:45.160","1.0000000000000009"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:46.161","2"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:47.163","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:48.164","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:49.166","5.000000000000002"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:50.167","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:51.168","1.0000000000000009"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:52.170","0"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:53.171","1"
    "10/09/2000 11:30:54.173","6.0000000000000053"

    However, doesn't really say much. On the other hand, under load..... any one fancy devising a standard test? i.e. Build scripts for both ASP and PHP. Load balance each, on identical hardware, and see which is fastest under light, moderate and heavy loads?
    "Woof" said Daisy,
    Poor Daisy is not so sure of
    her animalility anymore.....

  15. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •