hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Linux Users
Reply

Forum Jump

Linux Users

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2000, 09:40 AM
jtan15 jtan15 is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 382
Just out of curiosity, who is actually using Linux on their personal workstations? I'm currently running RedHat 6.2 (just switched from SuSE) on my machine without a Windows partition.

If you are using it, which desktop do you use? Or are you a real guru and don't even run X Windows?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-01-2000, 11:46 AM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
Smile

I use RH6.1 with Helix Gnome. I don't have a windows partition. Hell, windows hasn't been on a machine of mine for over 14 months.

  #3  
Old 10-01-2000, 02:46 PM
kunal kunal is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,750
Hmmm.. Linux refuses to install on my box

__________________
The Php Support Desk
http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-01-2000, 05:59 PM
jtan15 jtan15 is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 382
Cool Hmmm

Interesting. I think linux isn't getting as much publication as it should. Installing and getting SuSE up and running I personally think is easier to do than Windows. With yast, xconfig, etc, I think sooner or later it will appeal to normal users.

I've been using Linux for a little less than a year now on my home PC. It's really nice. I run KDE, and I leave it on all day and night connected to a DSL line. I've had uptimes as long as 25 days without any trouble. And the only reason I took it down was to change the kernel!

Linux is much more stable than Windows. As an experiment, I once tried to run a server on 98. I setup the personal web server (a pain in the butt!), FTP, and e-mail. It was tough, and took me about a week, and it didn't work to well ... it wasn't really stable. Yet with Linux, when I setup a test server on my machine I got it up and running in less than a day! I just think more people should give it a shot. It's too unfair to just say "Linux is for computer experts. I'll avoid it."

kunal,

What errors are you getting and what distro did you try to install? I could help you install it ...

  #5  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:11 PM
kunal kunal is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,750
I tried installing Red Hat 6.0, 6.1, 6.2. None of them installed. All gave me unable to mount errors, but the partioning completed properly. I want to Dual boot with my windows machine

I installed Suse on my other Hard Disk, but it refuses to recognize my Intelli Mouse So I dun feel like using Suse


Any ideas?

__________________
The Php Support Desk
http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  #6  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:17 PM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
kunal,

Is your Intelli mouse PS2 or USB?

  #7  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:23 PM
jtan15 jtan15 is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 382
kunal,

Getting intellimouses to work aren't that easy. But, it is possible. If you are interested in trying again, I may be able to point you to a few sites which have help files on how to get them to work with programs like Netscape and staroffice.

I have a logitech wireless mouse with the intelli thing. I don't use it.

One great thing about Linux that I'd like to add is how the copy/paste works. I'm 90% sure this isn't possible in windows. When you select text, it automatically becomes the clipboard, and you just have to click with the middle button to paste it! It's so much easier than selecting the text, going up to edit, then copy, then back up to edit and hitting paste.

  #8  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:28 PM
kunal kunal is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,750
JTY --> The Intelli mouse is USB.

Vincent --> I know how linux works I use it at work But I like windows ctrl-C to copy and ctrl-v to paste

__________________
The Php Support Desk
http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  #9  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:41 PM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
Smile

Kunal, well there's your problem, Linux doesn't support USB very well, and what it does support are a pain in the butt to get working.

Vincent, I have a Logitech Wireless and I use it under Linux, with the scroll wheel.

  #10  
Old 10-01-2000, 06:46 PM
kunal kunal is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,750
Not fair!!

__________________
The Php Support Desk
http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  #11  
Old 10-02-2000, 12:51 AM
JonnyQuags JonnyQuags is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 374
I use Red Hat Linux 6.2 on my old computer. Right now I use GNOME for that. Personally I prefer my laptop with win2k, just because the screen is so much better. Of course that 6 year old monitor does not help me too much in good quality

Tcoy~

  #12  
Old 10-02-2000, 01:11 AM
Chicken Chicken is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12,121
Quote:
Originally posted by Vincent Paglione
I have a logitech wireless mouse with the intelli thing. I don't use it.
Can I have it?

__________________
HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

Chicken

  #13  
Old 10-02-2000, 11:08 AM
MikeA MikeA is offline
Dedicated Hosting Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Internet
Posts: 464
Has anyone tried RedHat 7.0? What is the diff. between it and 6.2?

__________________
Life is Minimum live it Maximum.

  #14  
Old 10-02-2000, 11:17 AM
JonnyQuags JonnyQuags is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 374
From what I hear with RH 7 it is easy to get video and sound periphials working. It also have a new kernal in it. I get it in a few days and will put it on some test servers and workstations to see if there is any noticable difference.

  #15  
Old 10-02-2000, 03:05 PM
jtan15 jtan15 is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 382
Chicken,

LOL. I meant I don't use the intelli part. Although my mouse has a special button to activate the VPSF forces.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - October 18, 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-10-21 09:55:18
Big Data and Cloud Drive Enterprise Linux Adoption: Report Web Hosting News 2013-03-27 12:54:34
Colocation America Launches Colocation Service for Mac Mini Users Web Hosting News 2013-02-27 16:42:41
Verio Europe Replaces FreeBSD Hosting Solution with Linux Shared Hosting Web Hosting News 2013-08-22 08:34:35
Web Host AYKsolutions Launches Unmetered Linux VPS Hosting at Chicago Data Center Web Hosting News 2013-01-07 16:23:08


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?