hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : CPanel bug ?
Reply

Forum Jump

CPanel bug ?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2001, 12:02 PM
toma1708 toma1708 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Iasi, Romania.
Posts: 320

CPanel bug ?


Problem:

I have configured a subdomain and it is visible only when I type http://subdomain.domain.com.

When typing http://www.subdomain.domain.com I cannot see the page.

Question:
Is this a Cpanel bug or a server configuration problem ?

Thank you

__________________
||| >> Web Hosting and PHP/MySQL development services.
||| >> Vacation properties rental script - we are selling and supporting it since 2003: http://www.online-rent.com



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-2001, 12:05 PM
MikeM MikeM is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Prince Edward Island
Posts: 964
Its a zone record issue, you need to add www.domain.com to point domain .com

__________________
[url]I got nothing/url]

For clarity's sake, don't use "<ip address of hostname>" use the ACTUAL 32-bit numeric IP address of the machine.

  #3  
Old 10-03-2001, 02:22 AM
toma1708 toma1708 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Iasi, Romania.
Posts: 320
Thanks.

How should I do this in WHM ?

Thanks again.

__________________
||| >> Web Hosting and PHP/MySQL development services.
||| >> Vacation properties rental script - we are selling and supporting it since 2003: http://www.online-rent.com

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-06-2001, 04:00 AM
Tim Greer Tim Greer is offline
<insert something witty>
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: California
Posts: 3,051
Re: Thanks.

Quote:
Originally posted by toma1708
How should I do this in WHM ?

Thanks again.
Edit the zone file for that domain (which I think you can do in WHM -- otherwise, use an editor and do it by hand -- it's very easy) and just add another CNAME (or A, if that's what you're using) for the www part. For that matter, you can always use a wildcard as well. Be sure the serial number is incremented too though, but I think WHM might actually do that (shock) for you when you edit a zone file. WHM, I believe, restarts the named service, but if it doesn't, you can just do a reload manually (I assume you know how to do that?) Good luck.

  #5  
Old 10-06-2001, 03:16 PM
MikeM MikeM is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Prince Edward Island
Posts: 964
Hey thanx Tim

I knew what was wrong, just not how to fix it........(sorta)

__________________
[url]I got nothing/url]

For clarity's sake, don't use "<ip address of hostname>" use the ACTUAL 32-bit numeric IP address of the machine.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
cPanel Security Updates Address Perl Module Vulnerabilities Web Hosting News 2012-12-06 12:55:54
Hosting Control Panel cPanel & WHM 11.34 Release Hits Stable Tier Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 17:04:57
cPanel Releases cPanel, WHM 11.34 with New User Interface Web Hosting News 2012-10-16 13:09:49
cPanel Conference 2012: Branding and How to Do it Better with Felipe Gasper Web Hosting News 2012-10-09 18:00:02
Video: cPanel and Attracta Talk About Integrating SEO Tools into the Hosting Control Panel Whir Tv 2013-10-05 05:55:56


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?