
12-18-2003, 01:37 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chennai , tamil nadu , In
Posts: 1,402
|
|
is this spam from 1and1 or someone else ?
Quote:
Hi Christopher,
Ryan Deiss here, and I have something that I want you to
check out...
I've been hearing a lot about this hosting service that's
offering FR^E hosting for 3 years, and frankly it seems too
good to be true.
--> http://www.1and1.com
(No, that's NOT an affiliate link.)
Please understand that I have not personally used this
service, so I can't give it my out and out recommendation.
Like I said earlier, the deal seems almost too good to be
true, but I thought you might still like to hear about it.
If you read something on their site that I missed, please
pass it on to me so that I can, in turn, pass it on to the
rest of my subscribers.
My hope is that this deal is legitimate, and that the FR^E
hosting offer will inspire you to launch your online business
(assuming, of course, that you haven't already).
Either way, I wanted to wish you a Happy Holiday, and best
of success in 2004!
Best regards,
Ryan Deiss
|
|

12-18-2003, 01:44 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
|
|
If you know the sender I would say no, but obviously he wouldn't identify himself in this way. I imagine we are going to be seeing even more clever messages following the passage of the anti-spam bill in the US. Interestingly, I recently saw a two page full spread ad for this company in one of the computer magazines on the rack two days ago.
__________________
David Maiers
DMX Consulting/DMX Sport.com http://www.dmxsport.com
|

12-18-2003, 01:44 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 212
|
|
What do the headers look like?
|

12-18-2003, 01:53 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chennai , tamil nadu , In
Posts: 1,402
|
|
Of course I don't know the sender , let alone anyone with an email like sitesightings-4974@royalr1.com
I have pasted the necessary headers below
X-ClientAddr: 65.39.222.242
Received: from royalr1.com (royalr1.com [65.39.222.242]) by MYMAILSERVER (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id hBI5Xb814435 for <MYEMAILADDRESS>;
Thu, 18 Dec 2003 05:33:37 GMT Received: (from royalr1@localhost) by royalr1.com (8.11.6/8.11.6) id hBI3YiH22619 for MYEMAILADDRESS;
Wed, 17 Dec 2003 22:34:44 -0500
|

12-18-2003, 02:49 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 222
|
|
Yes, It looks like a pay for spam business. http://65.39.222.240/
|

12-18-2003, 02:51 AM
|
|
Newbie
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
|
|
|

12-18-2003, 03:05 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chennai , tamil nadu , In
Posts: 1,402
|
|
If a user or hosting account spams we report to the hosting company !
if a hosting company spams who do we report to ! 
|

12-18-2003, 03:09 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 222
|
|
I guess you could at least report it to the IP block owner:
Country: CANADA
NOTE: More information appears to be available at NET-65-39-222-0-1.
Peer 1 Network Inc. PEER1-BLK-06 (NET-65-39-128-0-1)
65.39.128.0 - 65.39.255.255
Web Integrity, Inc. PEER1-WEBINTEGRITY-01 (NET-65-39-222-0-1)
65.39.222.0 - 65.39.223.255
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2003-12-17 19:15
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
|

12-18-2003, 07:53 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by jasonl813
I guess you could at least report it to the IP block owner:
Country: CANADA
NOTE: More information appears to be available at NET-65-39-222-0-1.
Peer 1 Network Inc. PEER1-BLK-06 (NET-65-39-128-0-1)
65.39.128.0 - 65.39.255.255
Web Integrity, Inc. PEER1-WEBINTEGRITY-01 (NET-65-39-222-0-1)
65.39.222.0 - 65.39.223.255
|
Actually it's
OrgAbuseHandle: NSA-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Network Security and Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-604-484-2588
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@peer1.net
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|