hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : DNS set up question
Reply

Forum Jump

DNS set up question

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2003, 09:47 PM
Hunteroh Hunteroh is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7

DNS set up question


OK, I have a VPS and have set up a nameserver and got it running. Now I have mydomain.com registered with godaddy. I'm then having trouble changing DNS at godaddy from their parking name servers to mine. Is there something I need to do so godaddy knows I have a ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com? Thanks!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-2003, 09:49 PM
Eric Lim Eric Lim is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 1,512
If it's already resolved, godaddy won't complain when you are adding the nameservers. If it's a newly registered nameservers from another domain registrar, allow some times for dns propagation.

  #3  
Old 12-03-2003, 10:46 PM
eBoundary eBoundary is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 968
You generally need to "register" your name server IP's. Although without more information on the problem thee is very little we can do for you.

Are there any error messages at all?

Have you tried contacting GoDaddy support? Remember you gave them money, don't be scared to use their resources.

__________________
http://www.eBoundary.com - Let us help you expand your eBoundaries!
Fast, Secure and reliable FreeBSD shared, reseller and dedicated hosting.
FREE Peace of mind with every account!

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-03-2003, 11:32 PM
Hunteroh Hunteroh is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
When I try to update my domain name at godaddy with my IP address I get the following error. ( Error: pendmod: (550) Parent domain not registered; )

It looks like my DNS is up and running I can do an nslookup myname and it resolves it.

  #5  
Old 12-03-2003, 11:36 PM
Eric Lim Eric Lim is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 1,512
If you do a nslookup in local machine where the dns server is being run at, of course it would resolve, locally.

If you register the domain name at Godaddy, you also need to register your nameservers with Godaddy. This does not mean you need to purchase the nameserver domain name. You can simply login to your domain control panel at Godaddy, and register your nameservers for free. Read their documentation for more information.

Once it is registered, you can use the nameservers for all your domain name.

Check your nameservers to see if it's registered at:
http://www.internic.net/whois.html

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Emerging Tech: Email, Security and Privacy Blog 2013-08-29 11:29:43
UK Tech Blog Challenges CloudFlare, Web Hosts on Free Speech Blog 2013-08-12 10:32:52
The Value of Your Intellectual Property Blog 2013-05-06 17:43:13
Joomla Hosting Study Shows Speed, Uptime Top Selling Points of a Web Host Web Hosting News 2012-11-07 15:06:36
10-14-2012 Roswell, NM - The Hosting Shift Blog 2012-10-24 15:14:40


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?