hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Building a tower server

Forum Jump

Building a tower server

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2003, 03:48 PM
Taking a break from hosting

Building a tower server

I'm looking to build a reliable mid-tower server to use for a webserver. I'm looking to use an AMD Athlon 2600+, and want the motherboard to be able to handle 2GB of ram (the maximum I'd put in it). What would you recommend as a motherboard, as well as a good case and fans - I don't build computers, so I'm a newbie at this.

Thanks,
Josh

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-2003, 03:58 PM
Web Hosting Master

My advice: Don't build a tower server. Get yourself a nice 1U or 2U case and build your server into that.

The cost savings for colocating a 1U or 2U server are enormous. Mid-tower servers are a pain in the @ss to colocate.

Old 11-15-2003, 08:39 PM

The place I'm looking at charges the same for mid-tower colo as they do for 1-4U - I've determined that it would be more cost-efficient for me to use a mid-tower, as it offers more expandability, as well as better cooling, and the cases are generally cheaper. The same configuration (2nd server, same config) may also be used by me personally to store files that I use for video editing. The raw video files are huge (In the GB range), and I have a new 200GB drive here waiting to be used got that purpose .

-Josh

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-2003, 09:16 PM
iNET Interactive

IMO, http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ion=13-131-436

Is one of the best boards out there for AMD...

Old 11-15-2003, 09:47 PM
Web Hosting Master

Well, you have one thing right -- mid-tower cases are cheaper. However, I'd definitely argue the other factors.