hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Beat This Price?
Reply

Forum Jump

Beat This Price?

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:19 PM
Mrdredd Mrdredd is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 2,040

Beat This Price?


http://www.colomachine.com/Colomachine-50B.htm

Does anyone know a company that can beat $399 for that machine?

I'll be ordering a couple off the bat.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:36 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
Talk to Brian at rackmountsetc.com (sales@rackmountsetc.com) keep talking to him and eventually you might be able to get him under that price

But keep in mind that price isn't everything, I have one of the colomachine.com machines, and I honestly was not impressed, compared to the rackmountsetc machines.

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #3  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:50 PM
Mrdredd Mrdredd is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 2,040
What is the advantage of rackmounts boxes over colomachines?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:54 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
rackmounts are built better, they are more customized, better cooling...also you can get the 14" deep (half deepth) 1U that is equal to the full 1U that colomachine sells.

Colomachine.com's are just poorly built, they come with a white cdrom in a blackcase, I mean, how tacky is that?

Either way, I stress tested both and rackmounts' were just better, also the difference of quality hardware vs. whatever they could get cheapest.

If i'm mistaken the colomachine.com's come with 1.3celeron but the motherboard only supports 1.2 so they underclock them

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #5  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:55 PM
Mrdredd Mrdredd is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 2,040
What the hell for real?

They underclock their CPUs?

How accurate is that information?

If thats true theyre off my list as far as the celerons go.

  #6  
Old 10-28-2003, 02:03 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
Ask them (if they wil tell you..) the version of the motherboard they use, it's a MSI if i'm not mistaken but I can't remember the model #, than check the site for that motherboard, and it'll list max CPU at like 1.2ghz. they advertise a 1.3ghz, hence to make the cpu work on the motherboard, they would have to underclock it.

I could be wrong, but on the unit I had, this seemed like a legit claim.

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #7  
Old 10-28-2003, 02:13 PM
Papa Smurff Papa Smurff is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 214
Try this guy. They made all the server for Hotmail

John Wu
Sales Manager
King Star Computer, Inc.
1259 Reamwood Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
TEL: (408) 736-8590
FAX: (408) 736-4151
john@kingstarusa.com
www.kingstarusa.com

  #8  
Old 10-28-2003, 03:38 PM
Mrdredd Mrdredd is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 2,040
I contacted colomachine and received the following:

"No, they are running on Celeron at both 1.3GHz or 1.4GHz processing speed."

and

"I don't know where you get the false information. It is not true that you
need to lower the speed of the CPU. You can confirm this fact from MSI.
They should be able to tell you more technical detail about their product.

http://www.msicomputer.com

Jack Lee
ColoMachine "

I'll order a bunch and see how they work out

  #9  
Old 10-28-2003, 03:44 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
Interesting, well I'll have to speak to my source and see who is giving the false information. When you get your machines, let me know what model they are. I'd be interested in finding out again...I'm no longer with the company of which I purchased the test colomachine.com server for, so I can't know for sure.

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #10  
Old 10-28-2003, 05:06 PM
LinuxRigs LinuxRigs is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Erin, TN
Posts: 156
If a motherboard only supports up to a 12x multiplier, and you get a cpu that required a 13x multiplier...it should either not work at all, or work fine. The cpu will force the multiplier, you can't choose a different one.

  #11  
Old 10-28-2003, 05:08 PM
LinuxRigs LinuxRigs is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Erin, TN
Posts: 156
Just checked their site...looks like they're the only ones to support RadHat Linux. Now, that's rad!

  #12  
Old 10-29-2003, 02:37 AM
aarong aarong is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by LinuxRigs
Just checked their site...looks like they're the only ones to support RadHat Linux. Now, that's rad!
I thought it was RootHat?

  #13  
Old 10-29-2003, 07:54 PM
hostpak2 hostpak2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by nickn
rackmounts are built better, they are more customized, better cooling...also you can get the 14" deep (half deepth) 1U that is equal to the full 1U that colomachine sells.

Colomachine.com's are just poorly built, they come with a white cdrom in a blackcase, I mean, how tacky is that?

Either way, I stress tested both and rackmounts' were just better, also the difference of quality hardware vs. whatever they could get cheapest.

If i'm mistaken the colomachine.com's come with 1.3celeron but the motherboard only supports 1.2 so they underclock them
Man, you are full of it. Did you really use Colomachine’s 1U server before? Every server I got from them is in top quality and shape. The server CDROM are in black color as shown on their website.

The only problem I have with them is getting them to ship my servers faster.

  #14  
Old 10-29-2003, 07:57 PM
hostpak2 hostpak2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by nickn
Interesting, well I'll have to speak to my source and see who is giving the false information. When you get your machines, let me know what model they are. I'd be interested in finding out again...I'm no longer with the company of which I purchased the test colomachine.com server for, so I can't know for sure.
I thought so..

  #15  
Old 10-29-2003, 11:49 PM
ReliableServers ReliableServers is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,044
Who gives a crap what color a cdrom is, specially if your just looking for something cheap and decent quality/parts. Its not like your buying a new car where everyone can see it, things are sitting in a datacenter where hardly anyone can see them.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
AWS Leads Public Cloud Price Reductions in 2013: RightScale Report Web Hosting News 2014-03-24 15:16:30
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - August 23, 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-08-23 15:30:38
Web HSP Launches On-Demand Network Attached Storage Service Web Hosting News 2013-05-02 12:43:10
Superb Internet Introduces Price Match Guarantee for Hosting Services Web Hosting News 2013-03-22 12:36:38
Amazon Web Services Reduces Price of DynamoDB NoSQL, Adds Reserved Capacity Web Hosting News 2013-03-08 15:19:40


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?