hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : apache problems
Reply

Forum Jump

apache problems

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2003, 05:57 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152

apache problems


umm i installed ttp://sourceforge.net/projects/webserv/ which is a combination of apache, mysql, php,ect on a windows server 2003. umm i set everything up to work with dyndns.org. when i went to my dns address, it worked fine and i tried localhost, it worked, and 127.0.0.1 all worked fine. but when i had my firends tested the address dey got an error message saying page not found or missing ect. what oculd be the problem



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-2003, 06:25 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Check to make sure that in the config that it allows connections from all. It may be set to accept only from localhost access. Look for a ...

order allow,deny
allow from 127.0.0.1
deny from all

or something that resembles that. If it is like that, add some # before the lines and restart apache to see if that's the cause.

Edit: let me be more specific -- the config, that you should check in, should be httpd.conf.

  #3  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:20 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
i took your advice and changed settings to

<IfModule mod_status.c>
ExtendedStatus On
<Location /server-status>
SetHandler server-status
Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
Allow from all
</Location>
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_info.c>
<Location /server-info>
SetHandler server-info
Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
Allow from all
</Location>
</IfModule>

----------------------------

it still doesn't seem to work, do i have to change the virtual host? if so to what

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:22 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Locate for the default <VirtualHost> that is where I think it would be. The mod_info and mod_status basically is for checking server stats. I suggest keeping those set to allow from localhost and deny from all; if you don't, anyone can check server info and status'.

  #5  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:34 PM
OUFNecro OUFNecro is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally posted by skyxliner
i took your advice and changed settings to

<IfModule mod_status.c>
ExtendedStatus On
<Location /server-status>
SetHandler server-status
Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
Allow from all
</Location>
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_info.c>
<Location /server-info>
SetHandler server-info
Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
Allow from all
</Location>
</IfModule>

----------------------------

it still doesn't seem to work, do i have to change the virtual host? if so to what
I strongly suggest that you set the above quoted portion back to it's normal values (Deny from all)... server info and server status contain way too much info for outsiders to see...

  #6  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:38 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Yeah, they can get all version info of the software on the server, all IP's of people connected to the server, including scripts that you may want to have to yourself that you access.

  #7  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:41 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
NameVirtualHost *

<VirtualHost [Ipaddress]>
DocumentRoot /www/docs/user.ath.cx
ServerName user.ath.cx
ServerAlias user
</VirtualHost>

do i use that?
i do'nt see any other places with the allow and deny except status. i installed from a package installer, should i just try installing from the installer from apache website?

  #8  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:42 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Try pinging the server name from your computer.

  #9  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:46 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
i have two dns things that i'm testing whic is skyxliner.no-ip.com and skyxliner.ath.cx both leading to same ip. i pinged both address like "ping skyxliner.no-ip.com" and receive 0% loss which means it got through. for my router i used dmz on my server computer so ima guessing itz my setup files. i can't find a good doc to help config it. ima new to apache =X

  #10  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:48 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Do you have a firewall running on your computer? If so, make sure that port 80 is accessable.

  #11  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:51 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
i have a file called httpd.default.conf should i be editing that isntead?

  #12  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:53 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
I doubt it; normally, apache comes with an example config file, that may be the example. Try editing it and add some bogus line somewhere, like ;kafjkadfkaj;f. If apache errors on restart, then that is the correct file to be editing.

  #13  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:56 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
i think i may know the cause of the problem. i suppose there is a difference from the original apache files. the package installer webserv must replaced their files with original apache files. and renamed the original file (the one i was suppose to be editing) into httpd.default.conf. is this a possiblity?

  #14  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:57 PM
Jakiao Jakiao is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Janesville, Wi
Posts: 1,512
Well, add fake lines to httpd.default.conf and restart apache. If apache errors out, remove the lines and try again with restarting. If it works this time, then that is the file to be editing.

  #15  
Old 10-26-2003, 07:59 PM
skyxliner skyxliner is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
yea ur right, the default file was just a duplicate with loads of instructions

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Gains Most Websites in May Netcraft Web Server Survey Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 11:38:05
Apache Market Share Falls in Netcraft October Web Server Survey Web Hosting News 2013-10-04 14:34:11
Apache Market Share Dips Slightly in June Netcraft Web Server Survey Web Hosting News 2013-06-06 13:40:21
Researchers Urge System Admins to Check for New Apache Web Server Backdoor Malware Web Hosting News 2013-05-01 11:35:53
CloudStack 4.0 Open Source Cloud Software Released as Apache Incubator Project Web Hosting News 2012-11-08 13:54:10


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?