hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : I'm afraid to touch my registry...
Reply

Forum Jump

I'm afraid to touch my registry...

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:23 PM
vito vito is offline
Enthusiastic chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 11,059
*

I'm afraid to touch my registry...


I made the mistake of downloading a (bad) program about a month ago. The damn thing really screwed up a lot of my multimedia settings. I think I have most back to normal. But here's the problem.

Whenever I reboot (Win98SE), it always stops at a page that says that system.ini in my registry is looking for a certain driver that is missing. It says that the missing file is vpaec.vxd. I have to hit a key to continue.

So I do a search on my hard drive and found it in an ATI Multimedia folder. I don't use the ATI anymore on my computer. I see the file vpaec.vxd in there, but I don't know what to do with it.

I also did the regedit thing and searched the registry for that file. I found it in

MyComputer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Doc Find Spec MRU

Frankly, the registry scares the heck out of me. I don't want to touch it unless I'm 100% sure of what I'm doing.

So the magic question. What do I do so that I can go back to rebooting without that page stopping the reboot halfway?

As always, thanks for your help.

Vito

__________________
DemoDemo.com - Flash tutorials since 2002
DemoWolf.com - 5,300+ Flash tutorials for hosting companies, incl. Voice tutorials



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:25 PM
blue27 blue27 is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,852
Did you uninstall the ATI software and just have the folder remaining?

  #3  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:36 PM
vito vito is offline
Enthusiastic chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 11,059
Well, When I go into Add/Remove programs of my Windows Control Panel, after uninstalling ATI Multimedia, I can see that it is no longer in the list. However, when I look in Windows Explorer, it's still there under Program files. And it's not just an empty directory. It actually has files in it - even after I uninstalled it...

Vito

__________________
DemoDemo.com - Flash tutorials since 2002
DemoWolf.com - 5,300+ Flash tutorials for hosting companies, incl. Voice tutorials

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:39 PM
NewtSys NewtSys is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
Vito, get a program called regclean and run it... or better yet.. give me 5 minutes to transfer the program I use at the shop over to my house (its freeware) and will upload it for you to use.... easy "idiot free" registry cleaner.

__________________
Graphics Forums

  #5  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:40 PM
DaZ DaZ is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 232
put a copy of that vxd file in the system or system 32 (cant remember which) folder and it should fix it

  #6  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:41 PM
blue27 blue27 is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,852
Windows rarely does a clean uninstall. You often have to delete parent folders and some files afterwards.

  #7  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:46 PM
The Dude The Dude is offline
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,828
You should delete that folder and all programs in it.......

Then see if it still does it,and YES,running regvac will do the job nicely

The Dude

  #8  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:47 PM
NewtSys NewtSys is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
run this puppy Vito, it is a nice program I use to fix customers registries at the shop:

EDIT: LINK REMOVED

__________________
Graphics Forums


Last edited by NewtSys; 10-21-2003 at 10:14 PM.
  #9  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:48 PM
DaZ DaZ is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 232
TheDude.. you mean rename it.. that may bring the whole system down deleting it

  #10  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:51 PM
NewtSys NewtSys is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
yeah you never want to delete folders unless you are sure, Windoze has a habit of sharing dll's and other important stuff

__________________
Graphics Forums

  #11  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:56 PM
Acroplex Acroplex is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 12,173
vito, I hope as a Canadian that you're still using ATI

  #12  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:57 PM
NewtSys NewtSys is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally posted by timechange
vito, I hope as a Canadian that you're still using ATI
heheh I am an American I think ATI is one of the best companies out there for video cards!

__________________
Graphics Forums

  #13  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:07 PM
vito vito is offline
Enthusiastic chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 11,059
Actually, I had an ATI card installed to be able to watch TV on my computer. Who the heck has time to watch TV anymore???? So I took the card out and installed it on my daughter's computer.

So I installed regclean and ran it, after selecting all ATI items in the list. Rebooted, same stupid problem. (Thanks, nonetheless...looks like a nice program)

I think my computer is trying to coax me into just doing a clean sweep and installing XP.

Some days I really hate my computer...

Vito

__________________
DemoDemo.com - Flash tutorials since 2002
DemoWolf.com - 5,300+ Flash tutorials for hosting companies, incl. Voice tutorials

  #14  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:08 PM
NewtSys NewtSys is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
Vito, try setting the options to AUTOMATIC, then also go up to I believe it is tools and run the Orphan cleaner.

Just trying to give you more options.

__________________
Graphics Forums

  #15  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:14 PM
Acroplex Acroplex is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 12,173
I'm currently using an ATI All-In-Wonder 8500 DV - the TV quality is awesome.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
This Company is Reminding You to Renew Your Domain, But It's Not Your Registrar Blog 2014-03-13 14:00:42
ICANN Delegates First New gTLDs Web Hosting News 2013-10-24 12:34:02
.ORG Domain Registrations Increase by 13.6 Percent in 1H 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-09-06 09:55:37
Go Daddy Withdraws New gTLD Applications to Focus on Registry Relationships Web Hosting News 2013-03-06 16:13:45
ARI Registry Services to Launch Top Level Domain DNS Services Web Hosting News 2012-10-12 10:33:34


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?