Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,166

    Dell PowerConnect 3324 comments?

    Dell has their PowerConnect 3324 switch on sale for $399 this week. It seems to be a good deal, we just need Cisco 2924 equivalents - basic colo switching with support for VLANs.

    Anyone using these? Comments?

    Brandon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    287
    I was actually looking at purchasing two of these if I couldn't get my hands on an affordable Cisco 2924. And, unfortionately my source for the 2924 ran out, so we'll be making the PowerConnect purchase fairly soon.

    I'll keep you informed on how things work out. Though, I would also be interested to know if anyone already has experience with these.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    3,407
    We have used the PowerConnect 3348. Works great and saves you some cash. Although cable management is a pain with the 48 port.

    At $399, it looks like it is $200 cheaper then the 2950.
    BeDifferentSolutions | "For when Indian-based solutions just won't do."
    *We hire, train and manage extremely skilled technical support employees for your business*
    US and European Based Representatives | Dedicated and Semi-Dedicated Options | Level 1/2/3 Skillsets
    Expertise Since 1999 | www.bedifferentsolutions.com | info@bedifferentsolutions.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    383
    I believe that the Dell switches are made for them by Extreme.

    I know a few people that have them because they were cheap. No complaints so far. I've been too afraid to touch them because of a bad experience I had with Extreme switches a few years back.

    I think Dell is trying too hard to be "everything to everyone".

  5. #5
    dell switches used to be rebranded 3coms, but i have a hunch they are not any more, so the extreme reddbranding is a possibility. we have used them in the past with no major problems, although you need to make sure they dont overheat (they are a bit sensitive, but dont generate heat by tehmselves) and that there are no loops (they dont detect those well). we have used them to push about 50 mbps at peak with no issues.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Trouble will find me!
    Posts
    1,470
    How are the PowerConnect 3324 compared to the Cisco 2924 and the Extreme Summit "i"series 24e3 ?

    Anyone tried any of them side-by-side?
    ^^ IM WITH STUPID!! ^^

    "The only way to overcome fear, is to challenge it head on"
    "The quickest way to get over a woman, is to get under another"

  7. #7
    erm, im not particularly fond of the low end cisco l2 kit, but the extremes and the foundries are really nice for 24 port l2 customer aggregation switches. they are quite a bit more expensive though. i would take a foundry over a dell anyday, but for a casual user (ie not an isp/provider deal) the dells are fine imho.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Trouble will find me!
    Posts
    1,470
    Thanks Paul...

    Since you can get the "Extreme Summit "i"series 24e3" for around $400 brand-new the DELL is not such a good deal IMO.
    ^^ IM WITH STUPID!! ^^

    "The only way to overcome fear, is to challenge it head on"
    "The quickest way to get over a woman, is to get under another"

  9. #9
    4oo bucks brand new? dang. actually, now it seems more and more likely that the dells are rebranded extremes. i strongly prefer foundries though, extremes cli is somewhat irky to me =] oh, and please never try to do l3 on any of these or horrible things will befall you and your network.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,113
    Originally posted by [eS]s.h.a.z.y
    How are the PowerConnect 3324 compared to the Cisco 2924 and the Extreme Summit "i"series 24e3 ?

    Anyone tried any of them side-by-side?
    We use all three of these switches, and I'll post a report soon as we just got the extreme and are using it as a backup to the dells and ciscos. We just need more time to render a solid decision on which performs best.

    -Steven
    http://www.insiderhosting.com
    BGP Blend of Internap, Mzima, Savvis, and Global Crossing in One Wilshire, Los Angeles!
    True Definition of Managed Hosting
    Proudly Offering Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, and Co-location

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Trouble will find me!
    Posts
    1,470
    Originally posted by rusko
    4oo bucks brand new? dang. actually, now it seems more and more likely that the dells are rebranded extremes.
    Yeah $400 from large suppliers who specialise in liquadations/hardware sale companies etc.. I've seen quite a few also on ebay "new" at that price range from "townsendassets2".

    i strongly prefer foundries though, extremes cli is somewhat irky to me =] oh, and please never try to do l3 on any of these or horrible things will befall you and your network.

    paul
    If you get the "i" chipset version, you will be fine. If you get the old ones then you maybe in trouble .. but the "i" chipset are very solid.

    Basic L3 are fine on them...
    ^^ IM WITH STUPID!! ^^

    "The only way to overcome fear, is to challenge it head on"
    "The quickest way to get over a woman, is to get under another"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    Didn't I say a long time ago they were rebranded extremes? Everyone shot me down..it's true....
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    383
    Originally posted by snickn
    Didn't I say a long time ago they were rebranded extremes? Everyone shot me down..it's true....
    Ya, but with the Dell you don't get the "kewl", "Joker Brand" purple case that seems to really impress the clueless masses.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    As soon as someone developers aftermarket purple cases for the Cisco 6509's, I'm all over that!
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    383

    Talking Love that Joker!

    "With Joker Brand products I get a grin again and again"!

    Jack Nicholson
    Batman The Motion Picture
    Warner Bros., 1989

  16. #16
    i havent used them for l3 (i believe in leaving switching to switches and routing ...), but there are quite a few horror stories about l3 on them on nanog. i trusted the guys on there on that and decided to forgo empirical evidence gathering =]

    paul

    Originally posted by [eS]s.h.a.z.y
    Yeah $400 from large suppliers who specialise in liquadations/hardware sale companies etc.. I've seen quite a few also on ebay "new" at that price range from "townsendassets2".



    If you get the "i" chipset version, you will be fine. If you get the old ones then you maybe in trouble .. but the "i" chipset are very solid.

    Basic L3 are fine on them...
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  17. #17
    I worked with Extreme and Foundry extensivly at my last job. They are both very good products and I think many of the above comments are based on "what I have heard" vs. real world experience.

    I did a rollout for a DC involving Black Diamond Core and S48i Edge with BGP/OSPF and have had zero problems with the network. In addition to doing many simpler installs with the I series products i can say that they may not offer all the flexibility that a Cisco product may offer when it comes to sophisticated Layer 3, they are fast and reliable equipment.

    I was Cisco Centric at one time as well, but after seeing what the competiiton was offering, I can say that Cisco has some real competition our there with Extreme and Foundry.

  18. #18
    make no mistake, we are using foundries for all our customer aggregation l2 stuff and are extremely happy with them. excellent stuff. i am still, however, inclined to leave routing to the routers, no matter whether we are looking at a bigiron, black diamond or a 6509.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Trouble will find me!
    Posts
    1,470
    Originally posted by rusko
    make no mistake, we are using foundries for all our customer aggregation l2 stuff and are extremely happy with them. excellent stuff. i am still, however, inclined to leave routing to the routers, no matter whether we are looking at a bigiron, black diamond or a 6509.

    paul
    Paul,

    I most definitly agree with you here, if you are going to try and do routing with a switch then expect nothing but trouble.

    If they are used for there intended purpose they are excellent.
    Last edited by s.h.a.zz.y; 10-13-2003 at 08:35 PM.
    ^^ IM WITH STUPID!! ^^

    "The only way to overcome fear, is to challenge it head on"
    "The quickest way to get over a woman, is to get under another"

  20. #20
    The line between Switch and Router isn't a clear as it was a few yrs. back. Most companies, including Cisco Identfy their products as Switching routers (12000 GSR), and thats true accross most product families these days.

    I think this is the way the market will continue to move, Consolidation will lower costs and in a tight market, where vendors are battling for market share, products must do more and cost less to stay competetive.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    542

    dell switch mgmt sw

    In the Dell pitches I've read, they are including a free switch management package as added value.

    1. How does this compare to the (tradiitonally horrible) Cisco GUI mgmt for 29xx series?

    2. If one buys directly from Extreme, is there an equivalent GUI mgmr or is that extra cost or not available?

    CLI's are fine, but our guys are getting spoiled with the embedeed web browser mgmt in firewalls and consumer stuff that really aids productivity. If you don't crank a cli for 8 hours a day, it takes a long time to re-learn the commands

  22. #22
    Originally posted by tccoggs
    The line between Switch and Router isn't a clear as it was a few yrs. back. Most companies, including Cisco Identfy their products as Switching routers (12000 GSR), and thats true accross most product families these days.

    I think this is the way the market will continue to move, Consolidation will lower costs and in a tight market, where vendors are battling for market share, products must do more and cost less to stay competetive.
    what is your definition of router and switch then? you seem to be up on the buzzwords, please enlighten us =]

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  23. #23
    Geez , guess i'm starting to sound like a salesperson paul........

    The traditional definition of switch Vs. router still applies, L2 for switching, L3 for routers, so where do L3 Switches fit in, and how about all those L4-L7 web switches, or routers should I say.

    Well, most high end switches these days feature the abity to forward packets based on either L2 info or L3 address, so they are switching routers I guess. Other buzzwords that I think define this agument is the fact that term switching became associating with routing through MPLS (Label Switching) as well as the intergration of ATM services into traditional IP routers.

  24. #24
    i would have thought you would define them based on how flows are established, route lookup costs etc. hmm.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    542
    Originally posted by rusko
    what is your definition of router and switch then? you seem to be up on the buzzwords, please enlighten us =]

    paul
    Traditionally, a switch meant a layer 2 device such as the original Kalpana which replaced hubs with switches. These types of devices are more accurately called mulitiport bridges.

    At the time Kalpana brought out their products, bridging was passe and routing was considered the proper approach.. By renaming bridging "switching" and adding hardware (and later ASIC) based cut-through packet forwarding, the entire market was turned upside-down and went back to bridging everything first.

    Cisco promoted the definition that there are really only two operations in all network equipment. "Switching" - Moving the packet from an input port to an output port or "Routing" - Calculating/determining where to send the packet (protocol destination, not physical output port)

    Thus, by their own definition, every router or switch device is actually both a router and a switch and the only difference in price points is capacity (physical input and output ports), media (type of port - Ethernet, GigE, Optical, Serial WAN, etc.) and hardware assist for processing decisions (general cpu, ASICS, hardware routing/switching engines, etc.)

    Pragmatically, devices are usually referred to by their dominant, or traditional primary function. A Cisco 6000 is considered a switch, although the add-in routing cards make it almost identical to other Cisco 7xxx series "Routers".

    Similarly, many Cisco routers have NIMs, NMs, or line-cards that add LAN hub/switch ports and end-up with a blurly overlap between product capabilities.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •