Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London/Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,131

    Cheap router for small hosting operation

    Hello.

    Does anyone know a cheap router that would be suitable for say 10 - 20 servers (connected via 100mbit).
    Its really so the router would show up on the traceroute.

    These boxes would only have a max of 100GB/month bandwidth each.

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
    Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
    99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
    Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    Do you really need a router? I think a switch would be good. Are you doing anything layer3? (I'm going to assume no.)
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    acton, MASS
    Posts
    229
    get a freebsd+zebra box....

    -hc
    TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
    Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
    http://www.towardex.com
    inquiry@towardex.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,780
    There is no need. He just wanted a hop that shows their name, a Layer 3 switch should do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    acton, MASS
    Posts
    229
    Originally posted by Mfjp
    There is no need. He just wanted a hop that shows their name, a Layer 3 switch should do.
    yea.. he wouldnt even need zebra then to just have router show up in traceroute. still an x86 box would be cheaper for him in most cases..

    hey, whichever floats his boat
    TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
    Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
    http://www.towardex.com
    inquiry@towardex.com

  6. #6
    If you want a low cost solution, setting up a NetBSD or FreeBSD box can more than do the job. Plus an x86 can give you more flexibility is most cirsumstances.
    Host Byte Marketplace
    Directory of Web Hosting Companies, Services and Resources
    http://www.hostbyte.com
    Add Your Web Hosting Product Today!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London/Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,131
    Yes, i just want to show up on a hop.
    I would prefer to get a router instead of using a box.

    Could anyone recommend a cheap/good Layer 3 switch?
    Cheap/Good dont normally go next to each other

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
    Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
    99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
    Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London/Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,131
    The datacentre would handle everything really, i just get thrown a connection.
    I just wanted to show up on a hop.

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
    Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
    99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
    Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    acton, MASS
    Posts
    229
    Originally posted by ThomasC
    Yes, i just want to show up on a hop.
    I would prefer to get a router instead of using a box.

    Could anyone recommend a cheap/good Layer 3 switch?
    Cheap/Good dont normally go next to each other

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Yes, they are mutually exclusive.

    Cisco Cat3550-24 EMI should be a good shot.

    -hc
    TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
    Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
    http://www.towardex.com
    inquiry@towardex.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London/Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,131
    Cisco Cat3550-24
    Expensive hop

    I had a quick look and got prices of over 1200.
    Anyone know whats the going price for these or can recommend another.

    Thank you haesu, I will keep a note of that.

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
    Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
    99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
    Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    acton, MASS
    Posts
    229
    Originally posted by ThomasC

    Expensive hop
    LOL expensive hop indeed! Dude... seriously x86 box will not cause you problems unless you pick crappy hardware. How much traffic are you pushing? You just want an extra hop...

    Trust me, you are not going to find any cheap layer3 switches.

    -hc
    TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
    Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
    http://www.towardex.com
    inquiry@towardex.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    Um..if he's looking for something cheap, we've gone of this, Cisco 2948G-L3. That's a SOLID layer3 switch, for around $2k. The best you can get dollar for dollar, ignore that 3550 nonsense. you don't need that, i don't understand why he'd suggest it.
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    acton, MASS
    Posts
    229
    Originally posted by snickn
    Um..if he's looking for something cheap, we've gone of this, Cisco 2948G-L3. That's a SOLID layer3 switch, for around $2k. The best you can get dollar for dollar, ignore that 3550 nonsense. you don't need that, i don't understand why he'd suggest it.

    2948G-L3 = 2K like you said
    3550 off ebay = around 2K

    What gives?
    It's not within his budget regardless.

    -hc
    TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
    Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
    http://www.towardex.com
    inquiry@towardex.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London/Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,131
    Each box will have a max of 100GB.
    There would be a max of say 20 boxes.

    And i doubt most of them would even use that.
    Plus some of the boxes will have less. (30GB,70GB)
    So not a great deal of traffic!

    They will be connected via a 100mbit line.

    Regards,
    Thomas Currie
    Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
    Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
    99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
    Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    You could get a Dell switch or something....how many ports were you wanting?
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •