hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Fake PayPal Emails
Reply

Web Hosting Lounge Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss topics not related to the above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Fake PayPal Emails

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2003, 06:50 AM
sjau sjau is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 103

Fake PayPal Emails


Hiya,

I just received this email

Quote:
Please verify your information today!
Dear Paypal Member.

Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe Paypal experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us. To verify your information, click here and enter the details requested. After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.

Thank you for using PayPal!

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
The URL submitted in the Email is this:

Note the "@" sing!!!!

You can access password protected webpages and ftp servers through your browser like this:

http://USERNAME:PASSWORD@domain.com
ftp://USERNAME:PASSWORD@domain.com

So the given URL will go to this IP address: 211.113.186.42 and the www.paypal.com before the @ is there just to trick people into believing it's a paypal.com site!


wsjb78

__________________
sjau
*
"The third principle of sentient life is the capacity for self-sacrifice, the conscious ability to override evolution and self-preservation for a cause, a friend, a loved one."

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-2003, 07:05 AM
SilveR_Pixel SilveR_Pixel is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
I wouldnt answer that with any details.

If you are unsure if that is a legit email from paypal, either send them and email or call them up and ask them.

I think they issued a warning a few days ago about thos kinds of emails.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2003, 08:00 AM
anon-e-mouse anon-e-mouse is online now
Community Leader
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,984
There are probably dozens of threads on this scam. I believe there is a legitimate paypal address to report it to in one of the longer threads.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-24-2003, 08:02 AM
Luke Luke is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, United States
Posts: 229
Yup, got that one aswell, the address you need to forward the message to is:

spoof@paypal.com

The trick with these is to just be careful, and think about why they would need the details. I also received one from "eBay" recently saying that they needed to confirm my details. Its a tricky world out there .

Luke

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2003, 08:53 AM
Loon Loon is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,974
http://211.113.186.42 <-- obviously not a paypal website lol

It's scary though to think how many "less clued up" people fall for these scams, i bet there's quite a few.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2003, 09:02 AM
Tazzman Tazzman is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
inetnum: 211.113.186.0 - 211.113.186.255
netname: SHINBIRO-CATV-HAENAMKWANGJU-KR
descr: Onse Telecom
descr: 192-2 Kumi-dong Bundang-ku Sungnam-si
descr: KYONGGI
descr: 453-500
country: KR
admin-c: SK4792-KR
tech-c: SK4793-KR
remarks: This IP address space has been allocated to KRNIC.
remarks: For more information, using KRNIC Whois Database
remarks: whois -h whois.nic.or.kr
mnt-by: MNT-KRNIC-AP
remarks: This information has been partially mirrored by APNIC from
remarks: KRNIC. To obtain more specific information, please use the
remarks: KRNIC whois server at whois.krnic.net.
changed: hostmaster@nic.or.kr 20030811
source: KRNIC
And then they wonder why hosting companies block Asian IP blocks...
Quote:
query: 211.113.186.42

# ENGLISH

KRNIC is not ISP but National Internet Registry similar with APNIC.
Please see the following end-user contacts for IP address information.

IP Address : 211.113.186.0-211.113.186.255
Network Name : SHINBIRO-CATV-HAENAMKWANGJU
Connect ISP Name : SHINBIRO
Connect Date : 20020402
Registration Date : 20020402

[ Organization Information ]
Orgnization ID : ORG235378
Org Name : Onse Telecom
State : KYONGGI
Address : 192-2 Kumi-dong Bundang-ku Sungnam-si
Zip Code : 453-500

[ Admin Contact Information]
Name : Sungin Kim
Org Name : Onse Telecom
State : KYONGGI
Address : 192-2 Kumi-dong Bundang-ku Sungnam-si
Zip Code : 453-500
Phone : +82-31-738-6411
Fax : +82-31-738-6607
E-Mail : ip@mgate.shinbiro.com

[ Technical Contact Information ]
Name : Sungin Kim
Org Name : Onse Telecom
State : KYONGGI
Address : 192-2 Kumi-dong Bundang-ku Sungnam-si
Zip Code : 453-500
Phone : +82-31-738-6411
Fax : +82-31-738-6607
E-Mail : ip@mgate.shinbiro.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If the above contacts are not rechable, please see the following ISP contacts
for relevant information or network abuse complaints.

[ ISP IP Admin Contact Information ]
Name : Sungin Kim
Phone : +82-31-738-6411
Fax : +82-31-738-6430
E-Mail : ipadm@mgate.shinbiro.com

[ ISP IP Tech Contact Information ]
Name : Sungin Kim
Phone : +82-31-738-6411
Fax : +82-31-738-6430
E-Mail : ipadm@mgate.shinbiro.com

[ ISP Network Abuse Contact Information ]
Name : Sungin Kim
Phone : +82-31-738-6411
Fax : +82-31-738-6430
E-Mail : abuse@shinbiro.com

__________________
Proud member of the RIAA closed quaters combat cell !!!
You'd better drop that CD-R before I shoot you !!!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
PayPal UK IPN Issues Impact Web Hosts, Users Web Hosting News 2013-02-01 09:34:43
CIRA Warns .CA Registrants of Fake Domain Renewal Email Phishing Scam Web Hosting News 2012-08-10 11:02:44
eleven Report for June Sees 927.4 Percent Rise in Virus-Infected Emails Web Hosting News 2012-06-07 15:33:50
eleven Report Finds Increase in Phishing Emails Disguised as PayPal, Amazon in Q1 2012 Web Hosting News 2012-04-13 11:14:23
Security Firm Symantec Report Finds Spammers Using Fake URL-Shorteners Web Hosting News 2011-05-30 15:41:52


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?