hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Design and Content : Scrollbars in tables
Reply

Forum Jump

Scrollbars in tables

Reply Post New Thread In Web Design and Content Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2003, 05:50 AM
Teh Plug Teh Plug is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2

Scrollbars in tables


Is there a way to do it? so I have only a table that scrolls down which will contain more content, and not the whole page?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-22-2003, 07:05 AM
UH-Matt UH-Matt is offline
Corporate Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,029
Use an iframe to achieve this.

__________________
Matt Wallis
United Communications Limited
High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  #3  
Old 09-22-2003, 08:02 AM
Rich2k Rich2k is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 2,994
You can do it in DHTML, but it's not worth the effort IMHO when you can do it in iframes

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-22-2003, 08:18 AM
Teh Plug Teh Plug is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Well I've never used frames before, so how would I do it?

Edit: Never mind, I saw the other topic in here about it, and have done it Thanks


Last edited by Teh Plug; 09-22-2003 at 08:38 AM.
  #5  
Old 09-22-2003, 11:32 PM
sinthetiq sinthetiq is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 24
what did u use?

i only know how to use <div>

  #6  
Old 09-23-2003, 05:29 AM
Rich2k Rich2k is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 2,994
Read this forum... loads of threads about iframes alone!

  #7  
Old 09-24-2003, 12:22 AM
mitchikoy mitchikoy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
use tbody

we can create a tbody in css with this code

tbody {
height: 20;
overflow: scroll;
}


then just put a <tbody> tag before
<tbody>
<tr><td>body</td></tr> ... ... ..
</tbody>

works only in netscape though...

  #8  
Old 09-25-2003, 10:47 AM
Reptilian Feline Reptilian Feline is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,065
Overflow to create a scrollbar works in IE as well.

__________________
"Stop flame-wars - Report a post"
The original Kitty Lizard

  #9  
Old 09-26-2003, 01:19 AM
mitchikoy mitchikoy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by Reptilian Feline
Overflow to create a scrollbar works in IE as well.
do i have to use tbody?
i dont know why but it seems that it doesn't work. on my IE... oh well i love using mozilla-firebird so i uges its ok.

  #10  
Old 09-26-2003, 02:29 AM
Reptilian Feline Reptilian Feline is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,065
Put a div inside the TD and make that scrollable instead. Post some code and I'll test a couple of variations for you.

__________________
"Stop flame-wars - Report a post"
The original Kitty Lizard

  #11  
Old 10-01-2003, 03:48 AM
mitchikoy mitchikoy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by Reptilian Feline
Put a div inside the TD and make that scrollable instead. Post some code and I'll test a couple of variations for you.
oh you could do that all right...
but its just so hard aligning the headers to the body.

so i used tbody.
you cant use the <DIV> outside the <TD>.
and you cant use the <DIV> inside the table either. so get the picture... you have to create a separate <TABLE> for the header and the body its so hard to align.

  #12  
Old 10-01-2003, 04:00 AM
hdezela hdezela is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lima, Perú
Posts: 164
HTML:

Code:
<table width="450" border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
     <tr height="80">
          <td width="90" height="80">
               <span class="scroll">
                    This will scroll.
               </span>
          </td> 
     </tr>
</table>
CSS:

Code:
.scroll  { width: 100%; height: 100%; overflow: auto }
By using span, instead of div, you can make it fill just the cell you're working in.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Announcing the WHD.global VIP Pass Winner! Blog 2014-03-27 16:00:39
Google Releases Hosted Database Service Cloud SQL to General Availability Web Hosting News 2014-02-12 13:46:02
Jelastic Launches Version 1.9.1 of Java and PHP Hosting Platform Web Hosting News 2013-05-21 09:39:09
Amazon Web Services Reduces Price of DynamoDB NoSQL, Adds Reserved Capacity Web Hosting News 2013-03-08 15:19:40
Web Host Go Daddy Says Internal Network Events, Not Hacker, Caused Service Outage Web Hosting News 2012-09-12 11:56:11


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?