hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Paypal warning?
Reply

Web Hosting Lounge Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss topics not related to the above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Paypal warning?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:17 PM
ibda12u ibda12u is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 120

Paypal warning?


Did anyone get a warning like this? I got this in my email today.
One of those things they warn you about, but I am interested if a lotta people got it, or just a small random number.

(of course I had to fill out thing with fake info, probably deleted by them when they tried my fake email address and password, but some how I feel better.)
-----------------------------------

PayPal Warning!

Dear paypal user,

Due to concerns we have for the safety and integrity of the PayPal
community we have issued this warning.
Per the User Agreement, Section 9, we may immediately issue a
warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely suspend or terminate your membership
and refuse to provide our services to you if we believe that your actions
may cause financial loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also
take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate any
information you provide to us.

Please follow the link below:
and update your account information now
***edited for those who don't know better. Do Not put your actually paypal username and password on this link, if you click it.***
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=login-run

__________________
MS Group IT
Managed Content & IT Solutions


Last edited by ibda12u; 09-05-2003 at 11:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:24 PM
CrazyTech CrazyTech is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3,675
Didn't get one myself, but make sure no one opens this.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:41 PM
LP-Trel LP-Trel is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nothing but, net
Posts: 2,062
It links to Paypalwarning.org

Gimme a break..

Lame scam.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-06-2003, 12:10 AM
Ogg Ogg is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada!
Posts: 159
http://www.samspade.org/t/lookat?a=paypalwarning.org

...

Quote:
Administrative Contact, Billing Contact:
"Mr Masaaki Yoshino" <****@******.com>
Phone: ******
Fax: ******
that doesnt look like paypal/ebay to me.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2003, 12:11 AM
Mallclerks Mallclerks is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 96
Yes, its a scam ofcourse.

I recieved it a while ago, and I had my username and password entered, and right before i hit submit relized it was wrong url since I always try to rememeber to check those things :p

I sent Paypal a email about it but never heard back, Im sure tons of people end up getting screwed out of money each day from this though

__________________
www.thrillinghill.com - Webhosting
E-mail Stan@thrillinghill.com

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2003, 07:40 AM
Dedicatedone Dedicatedone is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 925
A scam, no doubt.

This is so stupid, I hate people like that.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2003, 08:22 AM
Website Rob Website Rob is offline
learning is in the doing
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,109
Appreciate the heads up, thanks!

__________________
PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
ServerAdmin Services also available

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2003, 01:04 PM
1AsianChic 1AsianChic is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 476
hmmmm ..... i didn't get one but that's interesting

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2003, 02:18 PM
fewcoin fewcoin is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Barbary Coast, Ca.
Posts: 632
Exclamation

Never, ever give out your id/password no matter how official the notice looks. They copy the actual Paypal or whoever's page and change the links around.

Unless, your the one initiating the login of course.

fewcoin

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2003, 03:36 PM
The Dude The Dude is offline
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,643
I get nothing when i goto paypalwarning.org or the other one samspade......Just a blank page......

I like to goto those scam sites and enter bogus info (Hey,play thier stupid game,but make sure to neter bogus info!!!)

(I bet they're pissed when they find out its bogus (HEHEHEHE))

The Dude

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
PayPal UK IPN Issues Impact Web Hosts, Users Web Hosting News 2013-02-01 09:34:43
CIRA Warns .CA Registrants of Fake Domain Renewal Email Phishing Scam Web Hosting News 2012-08-10 11:02:44
Yahoo! Names Former PayPal President its New CEO Web Hosting News 2012-01-05 19:17:16
Netcraft Research Finds EV SSL Certificate Used in PayPal Phishing Attack Web Hosting News 2011-12-30 21:08:38
FBI Arrests 14 People Connected to Anonymous PayPal Hacks Web Hosting News 2011-07-20 14:06:16


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?