hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Gigabit ports for connectivity in colo
Reply

Forum Jump

Gigabit ports for connectivity in colo

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2003, 10:44 PM
neonlexx neonlexx is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 782

Gigabit ports for connectivity in colo


With all these servers coming with gigabit nics, do any DC's offer a port that is 1000Mbps for your colocation needs?

This seems like it would be great for burstability and the joe average DoS kiddie, they might wonder why your services aren't getting hosed.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-2003, 11:08 PM
mgphoto mgphoto is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,114
Several DCs offer them. They are an option we have in one of our colos. However, the data centers are a little nervous about them due to the fact that if you get hacked or something goes nuts on your machine it's major bandwidth time.

I can picture some poor host that normally does a couple Mbs per month walking in and seeing an overnight bill for 100 Mbs.
Not a pretty picture.

__________________
SiteSouth
Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV. Colocation


  #3  
Old 09-03-2003, 11:12 PM
Mfjp Mfjp is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
Gigabit deliveries to the server itself is quite unneccessary unless you're running some major download site, or you need to backup data across to other local servers at high speed.

Also, in the colo environment, most of the giges are deliver via Fiber. The Gigabit LAN that comes on most system are just Cooper. In a Data center enviornment, Fiber is prefer because of the distance it can handle and they can avoid interference from power lines and such.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-03-2003, 11:20 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
Note that you can't get gigE speeds off copper if you go any further than a few meters with it anyhow

Go with Fiber or FastE copper. Fiber cross connects aren't overly expensive, in carriar hotels and such they are like $25/month more than a copper cross connect.

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #5  
Old 09-04-2003, 02:42 PM
neonlexx neonlexx is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 782
Could anyone list DCs that offer this? I am aware that its not needed, but the customer is ALWAYS right. =)

If im willing to pay for a service, someone should offer it.......

  #6  
Old 09-04-2003, 02:55 PM
Joseph_M Joseph_M is offline
Tells All!
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,879
The customer isn't always right otherwise Consulting businesses wouldn't exist.
Gigabit ports are available from a lot of colocation facilities, however companies can't actually advertise their services here, I suggest you make a thread in the Dedicated/Colo Requests forum.

  #7  
Old 09-04-2003, 03:00 PM
mgphoto mgphoto is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,114
Also, if you're not doing at least 15 to 20 Mbs bandwidth a month it's pretty cost prohibitive

Typical port is $300-$500 per month. Most will also require you to do it over fiber and won’t do it over copper.

__________________
SiteSouth
Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV. Colocation


  #8  
Old 09-04-2003, 04:34 PM
Mfjp Mfjp is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
You can offer gigabit ports by buying a gigabit switch, that has a Fast Ethernet interface. You connect all your customer equipment with giges and then upstream with Fast E.

  #9  
Old 09-04-2003, 05:09 PM
robinbalen robinbalen is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,040
You connect all your customer equipment with giges and then upstream with Fast E.

It's late and I'm tired, so sorry if I've got completely the wrong end of the stick... but wouldn't that be one hell of a bottleneck?

I would've thought that as standard you'd offer 100mbps ports and have gigabit uplinks (with a few spare ports) - then if someone requires gigabit you can move them onto a gigabit port.

Unless of course the client was exclusively using the gigabit connectivity to shove a lot of data between different servers on the same switch but only required a 100mbps uplink to the "real" internet.

__________________
Robin Balen
Gyron Internet Ltd - http://gyron.net/
UK colocation, managed hosting and connectivity services with 100% uptime SLAs

  #10  
Old 09-04-2003, 05:13 PM
KDAWebServices KDAWebServices is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sheffield, South Yorks
Posts: 3,401
I'm glad I'm not the only one that thought that statement was upside down Robin.

__________________
Karl Austin :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
UK Business Hosting and Managed Servers - Hosting for Business Users :: 0800 5429 764
UK Budget Web Hosting and Servers - Hosting for Home Users :: 0800 8620 349
Call us today and ask about our hosting solutions.

  #11  
Old 09-04-2003, 05:15 PM
robinbalen robinbalen is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,040
I couldn't tell if it was meant to be sarcastic or not

__________________
Robin Balen
Gyron Internet Ltd - http://gyron.net/
UK colocation, managed hosting and connectivity services with 100% uptime SLAs

  #12  
Old 09-04-2003, 06:16 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
I'm quite certain it's sarcasm.

__________________
Nick Nelson
Sr. Director & GM, VAS
Demand Media
425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  #13  
Old 09-04-2003, 06:39 PM
haesu haesu is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: acton, MASS
Posts: 229
Hey he says he's tired.. give him a break

-hc

__________________
TowardEX Technologies, Inc.
Metro-Boston Affordable Colocation, Dedicated Servers & IP Consulting
http://www.towardex.com
inquiry@towardex.com

  #14  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:27 PM
Mfjp Mfjp is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
It is sarcasm, given the fact that the end user just wanted that gigabit port to look "cool", why not give it to them. I really doubt that they would be pushing into speed that 100mbps FE won't handle.

If they're going to really use a gige to start on a server in their first place, they would have pick a 1000SX fiber card rather than have an onboard 1000mbps BaseT.

I was actually thinking the client just want to see "Connected at 1000mbps" in that windows bottom right corner thing"

  #15  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:49 PM
s.h.a.zz.y s.h.a.zz.y is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Trouble will find me!
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
Originally posted by Mfjp
"Connected at 1000mbps" in that windows bottom right corner thing"

__________________
^^ IM WITH STUPID!! ^^

"The only way to overcome fear, is to challenge it head on"
"The quickest way to get over a woman, is to get under another"

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?