hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : is this legal? http://www.cenion.com
Reply

Domain Names Discussion of issues related to domain names such as domain registration, DNS transferring, domain reselling, etc. Find domain resellers and registrars. Post domains for sale at Domain Names Advertising.
Forum Jump

is this legal? http://www.cenion.com

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2003, 07:05 AM
ALGORYTHM ALGORYTHM is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,235
Angry

is this legal? http://www.cenion.com


i recieved an email this morning asking me if i wanted to purchase a domain name. i already own 'thatdomain.net' and the email asked if i wanted to purchase 'thatdomain.com'. the exact words being:

Quote:
RE: selling my domain...

Are you perhaps interested in buying THATDOMAIN.COM ?

I'm selling the domain through cenion for $89.95.
If you are interested signup here:
http://www.cenion.com/transfer/1/e/?THATDOMAIN.COM

Jamie
$89.95!!!

a quick whois revealed that domain is not owned by anybody so i decided to purchase it through my regular registrar along with thatdomain.co.uk.

so i've recieved an email from somebody who wants to sell me a domain that they do not own. who is responsible for this practice?

cenion.com or whoever they use to advertise/affilate with?


seems like a very dodgy jammer to me!

__________________
<erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.


Last edited by ALGORYTHM; 09-03-2003 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-2003, 07:26 AM
kohashi kohashi is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 3,730
Sounds like a scam to me. Never heard of them.

__________________
Kevin Ohashi - Founder of Review Signal
Web Hosting Reviews Based on Customer Opinions Published on Social Media

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2003, 08:13 AM
Genocide Genocide is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 152
It's probably legal unless you own a registered trademark to that name. But it definitely is a scam. Looks like all they're charging you is the price of registration and transfer to your account. But stay away from people like that.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-03-2003, 08:18 AM
ALGORYTHM ALGORYTHM is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,235
but the domain isn't registered. (now it is) they're charging $90 for a $9 domain!


anybody want to purchase www.cenion.net? :p its available only you have to agree to sell it on for $900

__________________
<erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2003, 09:24 AM
4solutions 4solutions is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,094
They've been doing this spamming at least since April...

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...ghlight=cenion

In this thread above, cperciva noted that all domains are apparently available at cenion.com at bargain prices:
Quote:
Originally posted by cperciva
Also note: http://www.cenion.com/transfer/1/a/?MICROSOFT.COM

__________________
You may delay, but time will not. --- Benjamin Franklin

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2003, 10:14 AM
kohashi kohashi is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 3,730
lol 4solutions

__________________
Kevin Ohashi - Founder of Review Signal
Web Hosting Reviews Based on Customer Opinions Published on Social Media

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2003, 06:22 PM
Bashar Bashar is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 10,572
Quote:
Originally posted by 4solutions
They've been doing this spamming at least since April...

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...ghlight=cenion

In this thread above, cperciva noted that all domains are apparently available at cenion.com at bargain prices:

lol i wouldn't mind paying $29 for microsoft.com!

and enjoy the traffic for few days untill they redeem it back

__________________
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloud Security Alliance Launches Website for Cloud-Related Legal Issues Web Hosting News 2013-02-25 11:27:00
Petition Urges White House to Consider DDoS Attacks Legal Form of Protest Web Hosting News 2013-01-11 11:26:47
New Zealand Court Orders US to Show Megaupload Evidence Prior to Kim Dotcom Extradition Hearing Web Hosting News 2012-08-17 12:03:15
Data Storage Firm Inventus Names Chief Strategy Officer Web Hosting News 2011-12-28 17:08:22
Private Equity Firm Avista Buys Data Center Operator DataBank Web Hosting News 2011-06-16 14:28:07


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?