Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Spell Checker??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    32,874

    Spell Checker??

    Are we ever gonna get it back??

    suhm tymes eye gest downt sphel gud
    .
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maui, HI
    Posts
    1,239
    Aloha
    yeah was curious where it went the few times I have used it
    I know I misspell a lot so ????
    Aloha, Chad
    www.happyfish.com
    To do a move in such a way that no one suspects let alone detects !!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    I could be wrong, but I thought that site went belly up, thus the spell checker. Again, I could be wrong...
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    32,874
    Originally posted by Chicken
    I could be wrong, but I thought that site went belly up, thus the spell checker. Again, I could be wrong...
    Know!! Noe!! Sae iht ihsent sew
    .
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    81

    Spell Checker

    The spell checker was in the beta version of vBulletin 2, when it came to the release they removed it. Strange because I thought it was working quite well. We certainly had no problems on our forums.

    I don't know if they have plans to bring it back, it's not normal to introduce new features in software updates. We may have to wait until the next release now.
    Tommy
    www.webhostdir.com - Web Host Directory
    forums.webhostdir.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    I'm right behind you.
    Posts
    1,143
    I think it got very epensive and that they are charging by impressions, that is the reason the spell checker was removed.
    Marketing For Hosting Companies:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    278
    Originally posted by FindSP.Com
    I think it got very epensive and that they are charging by impressions, that is the reason the spell checker was removed.
    From what I remember the spellchecker site was selling its ads via the spellchecker window, so they weren't charging VB for the facility.

    If you want to spell check your posting, its always much quicker to write it first in outlook and then paste into VB after you've spellchecked it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    81
    I found the spell checker slow, an in house solution built into vBulletin is the best way to go. The option of checking when you submit.
    Tommy
    www.webhostdir.com - Web Host Directory
    forums.webhostdir.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    Education and Dictionary.com - don't leave home without it.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  10. #10
    I use my pocket dictionary or just copy and paste my post into Word and spell check there before posting.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maui, HI
    Posts
    1,239
    Aloha

    I never mipsell
    my keyboard does !!!
    hehehhehhehee

    man 4th keyboard and it still makes mistakes
    maybe I need to not use a MS keyboard
    hehehhehohohohohohoehheeheh
    Aloha, Chad
    www.happyfish.com
    To do a move in such a way that no one suspects let alone detects !!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    Actually, I just got a new keyboard, but my past one (a freebie from CompUSA), had this annoying problem of keys locking, etc., and really did cause me pain and suffering. Was almost worth the price I didn't pay for it.

    Tip: Don't buy anything Belkin, even if it is free.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  13. #13
    why do we need a spell checker anyway?

    i dont think we do..jst will eat up bandwidth and cause the site to get slower..not that it is slow now though
    Multiple Image Corporation - http://www.multipleimage.com
    Diverse Solutions for Diverse Companies.
    Virtual, Dedicated & Colocated Hosting.

  14. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •