hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Multiple visits (hourly) from hostitcheap.com
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

Multiple visits (hourly) from hostitcheap.com

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:24 PM
Cuddles Cuddles is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36

Multiple visits (hourly) from hostitcheap.com


I know this has been mentioned before in other threads, but I never found a definite solution...

We've been back up and running for just about 5 hours now, and I've already seen 60 hits from hostitcheap.com in my referer log. They're blocked in my .htaccess file (had to search and search to get definite IP addresses on them), but they're still showing up!

Is there ANY way to block them? They don't follow robots.txt either, btw.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:40 PM
Bling Bling Bling Bling is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 387
I emailed them and showed them all the info from one of my logs a while back and they said that its there users who run search bots from there hosting accounts that cause that.Sounds like BS to me.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:48 PM
CrazyTech CrazyTech is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3,675
Strange, sounds like these guys have some problems.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:55 PM
Cuddles Cuddles is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Well, I've tried everything I can to block them, and they're STILL coming in. As of 2 minutes ago, 68 hits just from them. And it's obvious that they're doing it from somewhere other than the server their pages are hosted on, because I've got those IPs blocked.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:56 PM
Coach Coach is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,304
First off, good to see another Kentucky web presence.

In regards to your solution for this problem, have you asked your host if they could drop that IP address for that site into IPTables? That would definitely block access.

__________________
www.square-network.com www.squarenetwork.com
Now available in regular and dehyphenated.
May 2003 Member of the Month
Useless Community Liason Ever Since.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:09 PM
Cuddles Cuddles is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Working on it now Coach. Thanks for the idea. If it doesn't work, what would you suggest next? Tried emailing them, and big suprise, it bounced. Tried emailing their upstream provider, and IT bounced too... Definitely something fishy going on.

BTW: What part of Kentucky are you in? Southeast here. (near the big chemical spill)

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:39 PM
akashik akashik is offline
ex-Aussie
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 9,576
weird. I was checking the logs of a customer account yesterday and saw that domain showing up. Any idea what these guys are up to?

__________________
Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:45 PM
Coach Coach is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,304
I'm right outside Lexington.

Outside dropping them in IPTables, I would bypass contacting the company and go straight to their upstream provider if they weren't being responsive to my requests. Contacting a company's upstream provider generally will get their attention. I emailed them a test message and it did not bounce.

ipadmin@intellispace.net
abuse@intellispace.net

__________________
www.square-network.com www.squarenetwork.com
Now available in regular and dehyphenated.
May 2003 Member of the Month
Useless Community Liason Ever Since.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:48 PM
Cuddles Cuddles is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Well, I just received an email from "security@intellispace.net" about this, and it looks like they've changed their excuse. It's not a client of theirs running a script anymore. It's someone on their dialup doing it. But for some reason, they can't stop him/her/it!

Quote:
To all: regarding spam "sent" from
"sandiego-ppp707.dial34.intellispace.net",
Please be assured that although we are aware of this individuals
presence, they do not infact utilize IntelliSpace services directly nor
indirectly.
They are forging thier mail headers to appear to reside on Intellispace's
network. If you would like to put an end to mail from this sender please
contact the administrators of the mailservers accepting the senders
unauthorised(?) mail relays to further obscure thier identity. Also feel
free to reference this to the FTC where there is an investigation
currently pending.

I thank you in advance for your assistance and understanding in this
matter.

Yours truly,
Intellispace Security

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:49 PM
Coach Coach is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,304
Quote:
Originally posted by akashik
weird. I was checking the logs of a customer account yesterday and saw that domain showing up. Any idea what these guys are up to?
I wouldn't doubt it if this were a spam-bot/email harvester. I haven't seen it personally, but that is what it sounds like to me. Usually bad bots will ignore your robots.txt file.

You could have a little fun with them by checking this out (courtesy of dixiesys.com)

http://www.emailharvest.com/

__________________
www.square-network.com www.squarenetwork.com
Now available in regular and dehyphenated.
May 2003 Member of the Month
Useless Community Liason Ever Since.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:50 PM
Cuddles Cuddles is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
I emailed admin@intellispace.net and abuse@intellispace.net. The admin account bounced immediately.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:52 PM
Coach Coach is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,304
Quote:
Originally posted by Cuddles
Well, I just received an email from "security@intellispace.net" about this, and it looks like they've changed their excuse. It's not a client of theirs running a script anymore. It's someone on their dialup doing it. But for some reason, they can't stop him/her/it!
That's an auto-responder regarding a spammer forging headers that they've gotten a lot of complaints about I'm sure and most likely a seperate issue with them.

No host can do anything about forged headers. It's something spammers do to try to cover their tracks.

__________________
www.square-network.com www.squarenetwork.com
Now available in regular and dehyphenated.
May 2003 Member of the Month
Useless Community Liason Ever Since.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-14-2003, 11:40 PM
nuthin nuthin is offline
Freelance SEO Consultant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,186
akashik: i'm pretty sure there "log spamming" .
its been around for a while, alot of porn websites have and continue to still do it.
basically their site address link will come up as a "refferer", and its highly unlikely they wouldve linked to your website.
so their spamming .
seen it on quite a few sites i monitor, now and in the past.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-15-2003, 07:22 AM
AHFBWEB AHFBWEB is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,131
nuthin is correct, this is being pushed as the newest "viral" marketing tool. Based on the (correct) assumption that folks want to see what pages link to them, they are assured a very large percentage of clickthrus. Of course you will never find your URL on the page, regardless, many will still think they actually have a link on the page and will eventually follow the human instinct of doing business with those that send us business.

Dave

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-15-2003, 07:51 AM
coight coight is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,383
Same here, we have quite a few from that domain. I thought it was just us.

__________________
Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
http://www.solidinternet.com
8 Years of hosting excellence!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Ubiquity Servers Launches SSD Cloud Servers Web Hosting News 2013-04-01 15:43:52
AWS Offers Customers Granular Cloud Billing Option Web Hosting News 2012-12-14 13:09:45
Web Host Asia Web Services Launches Cloud Platform with Hourly Billing Web Hosting News 2012-07-13 14:59:33
Web Host ASEOHosting Acquires IPv4 Address Space for Multiple IP Hosting Web Hosting News 2011-12-29 16:31:34
Inside OpSource's New Cloud Software for Developers Web Hosting News 2011-11-10 15:13:53


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?