Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    67

    Smile I'm new at this. And confused too! Please help ? ? ?

    Hey all! I just registered the domain name acornhomedesign.com at GoDaddy.com. I currently own Funky-Love.com which is hosted with 1 Gb of space that I purchased from ************.com. I'm planning on using that space for the new domain name, but I'm not sure how to direct it to that space. (Yes I'm definitely a newbie at all of this.) Any tips would be highly appreciated, and if you have any questions in case I haven't given enough information, do ask!

    Thank you!
    -----------
    alisa

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    32,832
    Does your current host allow multiple domains on your account?

    Have you contacted them and asked what to do?
    .
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    Hosts generally base their business model on individual domain accounts. Support your host and sign up for another account with them for the new domain.
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,879
    However if you wish to CHANGE the domain on the space from Funky-Love.com to acornhomedesign.com You will need to send an e-mail to your webhost requesting that they change the domain on your account to acornhomedesign.com and that they supply you with the nameservers for changing it.
    However you could also ask your host to put an addon domain onto your account, and then ask for their nameservers and change your domain to resolve to them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    Posts
    3,867
    this is something you should email your host about. Unless someone else uses ************.com. If you plan on using multiple domains I would recommend a place that allows quite a few. In most of those cases you just point it at your nameservers and add it into your account (or have your host add it).
    Another thing you can do to use that same webspace is a frame forward. Just point it at some page on your previous domain's hosting like olddomain.com/newdomain/index.html.
    Kevin Ohashi - Founder of ReviewSignal.com - Honest Web Hosting Reviews
    Check out our WordPress Hosting Performance Benchmarks, the most comprehensive look at WP performance

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    67
    thanks for all of the replies! I think I'm going to try to figure it all out with my host. And yes, my plan allows more than one domain. :-D Thank you again!
    -----------
    alisa

  7. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •