FREE webhosting.. Good or Bad?

I am new to web hosting and am thinking about offerng a limited number of accounts with FREE web space to attract customers.

Good idea or Bad? Why?

Thanks in advance for not flaming me

There is nothing wrong with it, but look for sites that you want to sponsor not just any site. Let them know you might want a link or banner later on in return for hosting. Find sites you have an interest in and know with whom you are dealing with.
    Sitekeeper
    Google

It's good idea but doesn't give a guarantee that you will get some clients. Better idea is give a facility to host multiple domains to your clients which ensure u will get some clients.
    ---> Looking for India (Mumbai) based hosting company ?
    ---> Affordable Shared & Resellers WebHosting Plans.
    http://www.HostForNet.com | email: info@hostfornet.com

Re: FREE webhosting.. Good or Bad?

Originally posted by WhatWasThat
    I am new to web hosting and am thinking about offerng a limited number of accounts with FREE web space to attract customers.

Good idea or Bad? Why?

Thanks in advance for not flaming me
    no flames here...

Anyway, I tried that when we opened. It opened up a big can of worms, and people tried and tried to abuse it. We were actually going to give out 10 of our lowest accounts free to people - only 1 was not fraudulent that we signed up - we had about 50 emails or so during that time from people who wanted it.

Just be careful who you actually let sign up, is all I'm saying.

-David
    Ion Web Services/TronicTech
    http://www.ion-web.com or Unsupported webhosting?!?
    Shared hosting, Reseller accounts, Dedicated Servers, and More
    Proudly hosting since 2002

Thanks alot for the advice!! It is amazing that there are so many nice people willing to share...

How do you verify the veracity or legitimacy of potentential clients? Is there a "better" way than say, requiring a previous site, or references?