What is the difference between virtualization & cloud?

Hello Folks,

I recently come across one forum thread where many people were talking about the advantages of cloud hosting. But after researching for a while on cloud, I discovered that cloud is nothing but the cluster of multiple servers which scales the resources according to the requirement.

But it can simply be done or called virtualization, where we can maintain the cluster and resources of hardware dynamically. So the question I had that moment was, is the big cloud hosting giants fooling us by just creatively naming their products and selling it on high cost. and such services can be offered by any hosting company with required resources.

No offense please, I am not technically sound but being a small customer who wants to upgrade on cloud had a thought/doubt about the service after researching little. I hope that your thoughts will definitely help me understand cloud better.

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Olivia_Avid View Post
    So the question I had that moment was, is the big cloud hosting giants fooling us by just creatively naming their products and selling it on high cost. and such services can be offered by any hosting company with required resources.
    Virtualization refers to the process of mimicking real physical hardware (VPS does this). There are distinctions there as well; for instance, para-virtualization relies on your operating system having drivers to facilitate using virtualized hardware. There are then things like "virtio", which are drivers for accessing IO devices virtually. Basically they're just trying to make your operating system run as efficiently as possible on virtual computer hardware.