hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : SEO / SEM Discussions : Inktomi bot
Reply

SEO / SEM Discussions Discuss Search Engine Optimization (SEO) techniques and philosophies -- The art of Search Engine Marketing (SEM) -- Social Media Optimization (SMO) -- And all points in between. *NOTE* If you feel you need to link to or mention your domain name, you must use the Other Reviews forum.
Forum Jump

Inktomi bot

Reply Post New Thread In SEO / SEM  Discussions Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:12 PM
LindonNetworks LindonNetworks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 292

Inktomi bot


I have had 10 Inktomi bots on my site for 2 days now. What the hell could they be doing? What is also weird is that some posted on my forum from the host name 'inktomi1-cdf.server.ntl.com.'

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:24 PM
bear bear is offline
Community Leader
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: cognito
Posts: 17,329
Inktomi has recently implemented a method to follow and index dynamic pages (PHP and so on). Does the site use PHP?
They claim slurp (the bot) will honor robots txt exclusion files.

After it exhausts all the possible links on your site, it will leave...maybe. I had one caught in a shopping cart, and it was buying items. Left without paying, though...

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:29 PM
elevation24 elevation24 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 1
I've been getting that a lot on my forum. It's Inktomi's indexing bot, "Slurp" and it's indexing your site to be included in the search database.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:46 PM
HostPlains HostPlains is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 45
We have had over 40 of these friggin "Bots" for 7 days now. Used up about 3GB of bandwidth so far...

__________________
KCRadio.net - The source for KC Radio news

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:54 PM
eBoundary eBoundary is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally posted by HostPlains
We have had over 40 of these friggin "Bots" for 7 days now. Used up about 3GB of bandwidth so far...
robots.txt is your friend, if you dont want the bots there tell them not to come back.

__________________
http://www.eBoundary.com - Let us help you expand your eBoundaries!
Fast, Secure and reliable FreeBSD shared, reseller and dedicated hosting.
FREE Peace of mind with every account!

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:40 PM
madmouser madmouser is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally posted by bear
Inktomi has recently implemented a method to follow and index dynamic pages (PHP and so on). Does the site use PHP?
They claim slurp (the bot) will honor robots txt exclusion files.

After it exhausts all the possible links on your site, it will leave...maybe. I had one caught in a shopping cart, and it was buying items. Left without paying, though...


Just curious -- what does a bot buy?

__________________
Laura K.
http://www.madmousergraphics.com
graphic design for grownups

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:44 PM
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally posted by bear

After it exhausts all the possible links on your site, it will leave...maybe.
on one of my sites it has been going through my forum for over a week using 268MB

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:46 PM
VapoRub VapoRub is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,441
common feed the bots

__________________
Synergy Blue LLC
SonataWeb.net | SynergyBlue.com
USA should so something about: http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2003, 07:17 PM
Porky Porky is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 634
shouldnt your site be lised on http://www.inktomi.com after it spidered you? mine is getting spidered for like a month now and it still havent been listed

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2003, 07:37 PM
Informity Informity is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 2,026
lol...

they arent bots.. they are ntl proxies... everyone on the isp ntl has their traffic on port 80 routed through one(and ntl has a large % of the uk population)

that particular one is a user from cardiff in the uk.

__________________
Gone.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-16-2003, 07:44 PM
markymark markymark is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 57
Inktomi.com is the corporate site - you should see your pages on MSN, HotBot and a few Infospace properties when Inktomi next updates.

Matrix 28,

Inktomi used to supply server software as well as having a web search product. NTL is one of their customers. That reference on your forum ('inktomi1-cdf.server.ntl.com) is to the server software product.

__________________
search engine positioning and ranking services. Guaranteed results. http://www.1design4life.co.uk

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-16-2003, 09:31 PM
H-U.net H-U.net is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Just had the same thing on our forums.

I thought wow, this is busy - after checking out the IP they all belonged to Slurp though

As for the NTL issue, NTL uses Inktomi's proxies - although this is unrelated to the original poster.

Seems as though it's all over now though

Kevin

__________________
.:. Advanced Web Hosting .:.
.:. H-U Community .:.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-17-2003, 12:06 AM
Kimmikat Kimmikat is offline
Retired ***ulator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Let's see.....
Posts: 4,205
I've been seeing the same thing. Last night my forum's online thingy said there was 5 guests viewing the board. When I went into Admin mode, I noticed the IP belonged to Inktomi.

__________________
73's, Kim
Everything happens for a reason I make up.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-17-2003, 12:35 AM
LiveRack LiveRack is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 282
I've had a similar situation on my forum except with Googlebot. It has literally been at my site for over 7 days straight.

I would ban it from the forum but I use adsense and wish to allow them to index for those purposes.

The good thing is, googlebot tends to play nice and so hasn't hit the server too hard or fast but nevertheless, it's been there grabbing pages for over a week (continuosly).

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-17-2003, 04:53 AM
LindonNetworks LindonNetworks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Does the site use PHP?
Yes, it is a vBulletin, thanks for all the help guys.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Riverbed Technology Names Chief Technology Officer Web Hosting News 2013-04-25 15:37:25


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?