hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Dual oc 192's out of NJ?
Reply

Forum Jump

Dual oc 192's out of NJ?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 300

Dual oc 192's out of NJ?


Does anyone know of a provider that has dual 192's out of NJ? I got this friend and i think he's being taken for a ride!

this guy tells me dedicatednow.com told him they are running Dual oc-192's

HAHHAH


Last edited by SeanK; 07-07-2003 at 07:18 PM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 376
Only the big guys have OC192 backbones.. so if its Sprint, AT&T, UUNET, Qwest, you get the idea... then its true.

But they only have OC192 as their backbone to their largest POPs. All of them have network maps on their sites so you can see where the OC192 pipes are.

__________________
< < E Z Z I . n e t > >
Best-of-breed Hosting Services
http://www.ezzi.net | 1-866-GET-EZZI : sales@ezzi.net

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
Does the NAC DC have OC192 running thru them. I would guess there would be quite a few OC48 running.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MARS
Posts: 557
XO
XO has OC-192
Global Crossing
I'm almost sure GC (GLX) has OC-192 too
Aleron
Aleron Has OC-48
MFN
MFN has OC-192 to london the rest off usa it's all about OC-48 and 1 OC-12 (LA to Boston and than 2x OC-12 to lodon)
and a OC-3 (NY / Atlanta)
Verio
Has OC-48 and OC-12 all over us (more OC-48 than OC-12)
and has a few OC-12 to lodon and 4 OC-48 and about 6 OC-12 and about 10 OC-3
Wiltel
Has lot's off OC-48 around us and DS-3 , OC-3 , OC-12 and GiG-e true usa..
Cable & Wireless
Has a couple off OC-48 around usa...
Cogent
I think it's OC-192 there hole backbone true us...
UUNet
has all kind'a backbones goin true usa

DedicatedNow MIGHT have a GiG-E noting more beacuse when they had that problem it there backbone they had anh
OC-12 ( 622Mbps ) They might have 2x OC-12 now but I don't see they having more than 1.5 GB/s

  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
Oh yeah, i totally forgot that's the point where they start going overseas. So all of the major carrier should have OC192 in that region or near Ashburn.

  #6  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MARS
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally posted by Mfjp
Oh yeah, i totally forgot that's the point where they start going overseas. So all of the major carrier should have OC192 in that region or near Ashburn.
Yeah but there are not many OC-192 on US ground... only conections.....

The most OC-192 fiber in us i think it's cogent... that covers major city's

there are mayble 2-3 more that have OC-192 but it's not that much...

  #7  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 57
I would see a problem in lying to a customer. Then again DN is not a scam. But why would it matter if they had dual OC-192s unless they were a) overselling or congesting it or b) you needed 10Gbps? Very few companies have OC-192s at all, and probably none with two out of the same POP (and in NJ!). It's threads like these which are patently confusing.

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 782
OC-192s are big pipes, I remember getting a quote from Qwest awhile back for OC-48 it was nearly a million dollars per month, this was also a few years ago.

  #9  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally posted by roundice
I would see a problem in lying to a customer. Then again DN is not a scam. But why would it matter if they had dual OC-192s unless they were a) overselling or congesting it or b) you needed 10Gbps? Very few companies have OC-192s at all, and probably none with two out of the same POP (and in NJ!). It's threads like these which are patently confusing.
Several Providers have Dual OC-192's for redundancy. Especially in a area where they are hoping to their overseas peers.
I know Cogent has Dual OC-192 Backbone and their Metro's are only oc-48 I believe.

  #10  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MARS
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally posted by Daver
Several Providers have Dual OC-192's for redundancy. Especially in a area where they are hoping to their overseas peers.
I know Cogent has Dual OC-192 Backbone and their Metro's are only oc-48 I believe.
Yes I remeber some where reading that cogent OC-192 nation wide was just for city conections in each city there are few OC-48 ( deppends on the size i think and demmand )


obs :
OC-12 (622Mbps)
OC-48 (2.5 Gbps)
OC-192(10 Gbps)


Quote:
OC-192s are big pipes, I remember getting a quote from Qwest awhile back for OC-48 it was nearly a million dollars per month, this was also a few years ago.
I know a GiG-E it Cogent it's 30.000 (10.000 for biz that are not reselling the conection, hosting and etc)

Soh 1 Million dollars for a OC-48 i don't see that how in today marks. i would say it's from
US$ 75.000.00 (cogent)
to max.
US$ 500.000.00 (tier1 high bw prices hehe )

But in these days it's best to get like 2 GiG-e it a commint offuse off only 200 mb/s but burst. to 1 GB both lines


Last edited by hostingsp; 07-08-2003 at 02:12 AM.
  #11  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 3,205
Be careful with marketing material, what Cogent's site says:

Quote:
The Cogent national backbone is designed to operate at OC-192. The MAN rings at OC-48. Our Cisco Powered Network uses ring redundancy and protected optronics to ensure survivability and availability of service.
That doesn't mean their backbone is actually operating at OC192, just that it is OC192 capable. Considering their relatively small client base, I don't believe they would have a need to operate at full OC192 at this time.

__________________
My Political Blog

  #12  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MARS
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally posted by allan
Be careful with marketing material, what Cogent's site says:



That doesn't mean their backbone is actually operating at OC192, just that it is OC192 capable. Considering their relatively small client base, I don't believe they would have a need to operate at full OC192 at this time.
I don't think cogent will say they can operate at that speed and can't not operate at that speed...

Quote:
Cogent is the first and only IP data only nationwide network in the country. Running at an unprecedented 80 Gbps
don't think it's running at 80 GB/s but it can operate at that level... if there is mark.

PS : but i don't think cogent needs to operate at 80 GB/s it no mark using that much beacuse it's just goin to heat up there fiber (not only the fiber) and no good comes from this if you are not using it


Last edited by hostingsp; 07-08-2003 at 02:35 AM.
  #13  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally posted by hostingsp
I don't think cogent will say they can operate at that speed and can't not operate at that speed...
My point is that there is a big difference between being OC192 capable and actually having OC192 lines installed. All their page implies is that they are capable of provisioning OC192 connections for their transit, but it doesn't say they have any OC192 transit (compare their working with providers who actually have OC192 circuits provisioned (like UUNET).

__________________
My Political Blog

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,780
Yep, I think I could go lease a dark fiber tomorrow and tell the world I'm OC192 capable. The fiber itself is capable, if that is what the company is trying to promote the whole way.

I personally don't take that OC stuff anymore, all I care is if I could get the whole bw I brought for out the pipes.

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 782
Quote:
Soh 1 Million dollars for a OC-48 i don't see that how in today marks. i would say it's from
US$ 75.000.00 (cogent)
to max.
US$ 500.000.00 (tier1 high bw prices hehe )

But in these days it's best to get like 2 GiG-e it a commint offuse off only 200 mb/s but burst. to 1 GB both lines [/B]

This is most likely the case today, this was awhile back I think around 1999 maybe 2000?

Most places unless they have their own backbone are not running oc48s or oc192.

OC3s and gig-es are fairly common place today.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos - June 13, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-06-13 18:30:39
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – May 31, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:04
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – May 10, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:06
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – March 1, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:16
ZNet Launches New Company NodeFirst to Serve India Dedicated Server Market Web Hosting News 2013-01-02 13:16:39


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?