Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    311

    Dual oc 192's out of NJ?

    Does anyone know of a provider that has dual 192's out of NJ? I got this friend and i think he's being taken for a ride!

    this guy tells me dedicatednow.com told him they are running Dual oc-192's

    HAHHAH
    Last edited by SeanK; 07-07-2003 at 07:18 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Only the big guys have OC192 backbones.. so if its Sprint, AT&T, UUNET, Qwest, you get the idea... then its true.

    But they only have OC192 as their backbone to their largest POPs. All of them have network maps on their sites so you can see where the OC192 pipes are.
    < < E Z Z I . n e t > >
    Best-of-breed Hosting Services
    http://www.ezzi.net | 1-866-GET-EZZI : sales@ezzi.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,780
    Does the NAC DC have OC192 running thru them. I would guess there would be quite a few OC48 running.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    MARS
    Posts
    557
    XO
    XO has OC-192
    Global Crossing
    I'm almost sure GC (GLX) has OC-192 too
    Aleron
    Aleron Has OC-48
    MFN
    MFN has OC-192 to london the rest off usa it's all about OC-48 and 1 OC-12 (LA to Boston and than 2x OC-12 to lodon)
    and a OC-3 (NY / Atlanta)
    Verio
    Has OC-48 and OC-12 all over us (more OC-48 than OC-12)
    and has a few OC-12 to lodon and 4 OC-48 and about 6 OC-12 and about 10 OC-3
    Wiltel
    Has lot's off OC-48 around us and DS-3 , OC-3 , OC-12 and GiG-e true usa..
    Cable & Wireless
    Has a couple off OC-48 around usa...
    Cogent
    I think it's OC-192 there hole backbone true us...
    UUNet
    has all kind'a backbones goin true usa

    DedicatedNow MIGHT have a GiG-E noting more beacuse when they had that problem it there backbone they had anh
    OC-12 ( 622Mbps ) They might have 2x OC-12 now but I don't see they having more than 1.5 GB/s

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,780
    Oh yeah, i totally forgot that's the point where they start going overseas. So all of the major carrier should have OC192 in that region or near Ashburn.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    MARS
    Posts
    557
    Originally posted by Mfjp
    Oh yeah, i totally forgot that's the point where they start going overseas. So all of the major carrier should have OC192 in that region or near Ashburn.
    Yeah but there are not many OC-192 on US ground... only conections.....

    The most OC-192 fiber in us i think it's cogent... that covers major city's

    there are mayble 2-3 more that have OC-192 but it's not that much...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    57
    I would see a problem in lying to a customer. Then again DN is not a scam. But why would it matter if they had dual OC-192s unless they were a) overselling or congesting it or b) you needed 10Gbps? Very few companies have OC-192s at all, and probably none with two out of the same POP (and in NJ!). It's threads like these which are patently confusing.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    782
    OC-192s are big pipes, I remember getting a quote from Qwest awhile back for OC-48 it was nearly a million dollars per month, this was also a few years ago.

  9. #9
    Originally posted by roundice
    I would see a problem in lying to a customer. Then again DN is not a scam. But why would it matter if they had dual OC-192s unless they were a) overselling or congesting it or b) you needed 10Gbps? Very few companies have OC-192s at all, and probably none with two out of the same POP (and in NJ!). It's threads like these which are patently confusing.
    Several Providers have Dual OC-192's for redundancy. Especially in a area where they are hoping to their overseas peers.
    I know Cogent has Dual OC-192 Backbone and their Metro's are only oc-48 I believe.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    MARS
    Posts
    557
    Originally posted by Daver
    Several Providers have Dual OC-192's for redundancy. Especially in a area where they are hoping to their overseas peers.
    I know Cogent has Dual OC-192 Backbone and their Metro's are only oc-48 I believe.
    Yes I remeber some where reading that cogent OC-192 nation wide was just for city conections in each city there are few OC-48 ( deppends on the size i think and demmand )


    obs :
    OC-12 (622Mbps)
    OC-48 (2.5 Gbps)
    OC-192(10 Gbps)


    OC-192s are big pipes, I remember getting a quote from Qwest awhile back for OC-48 it was nearly a million dollars per month, this was also a few years ago.
    I know a GiG-E it Cogent it's 30.000 (10.000 for biz that are not reselling the conection, hosting and etc)

    Soh 1 Million dollars for a OC-48 i don't see that how in today marks. i would say it's from
    US$ 75.000.00 (cogent)
    to max.
    US$ 500.000.00 (tier1 high bw prices hehe )

    But in these days it's best to get like 2 GiG-e it a commint offuse off only 200 mb/s but burst. to 1 GB both lines
    Last edited by hostingsp; 07-08-2003 at 02:12 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    Be careful with marketing material, what Cogent's site says:

    The Cogent national backbone is designed to operate at OC-192. The MAN rings at OC-48. Our Cisco Powered Network uses ring redundancy and protected optronics to ensure survivability and availability of service.
    That doesn't mean their backbone is actually operating at OC192, just that it is OC192 capable. Considering their relatively small client base, I don't believe they would have a need to operate at full OC192 at this time.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    MARS
    Posts
    557
    Originally posted by allan
    Be careful with marketing material, what Cogent's site says:



    That doesn't mean their backbone is actually operating at OC192, just that it is OC192 capable. Considering their relatively small client base, I don't believe they would have a need to operate at full OC192 at this time.
    I don't think cogent will say they can operate at that speed and can't not operate at that speed...

    Cogent is the first and only IP data only nationwide network in the country. Running at an unprecedented 80 Gbps
    don't think it's running at 80 GB/s but it can operate at that level... if there is mark.

    PS : but i don't think cogent needs to operate at 80 GB/s it no mark using that much beacuse it's just goin to heat up there fiber (not only the fiber) and no good comes from this if you are not using it
    Last edited by hostingsp; 07-08-2003 at 02:35 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    Originally posted by hostingsp
    I don't think cogent will say they can operate at that speed and can't not operate at that speed...
    My point is that there is a big difference between being OC192 capable and actually having OC192 lines installed. All their page implies is that they are capable of provisioning OC192 connections for their transit, but it doesn't say they have any OC192 transit (compare their working with providers who actually have OC192 circuits provisioned (like UUNET).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,780
    Yep, I think I could go lease a dark fiber tomorrow and tell the world I'm OC192 capable. The fiber itself is capable, if that is what the company is trying to promote the whole way.

    I personally don't take that OC stuff anymore, all I care is if I could get the whole bw I brought for out the pipes.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    782
    Soh 1 Million dollars for a OC-48 i don't see that how in today marks. i would say it's from
    US$ 75.000.00 (cogent)
    to max.
    US$ 500.000.00 (tier1 high bw prices hehe )

    But in these days it's best to get like 2 GiG-e it a commint offuse off only 200 mb/s but burst. to 1 GB both lines [/B]

    This is most likely the case today, this was awhile back I think around 1999 maybe 2000?

    Most places unless they have their own backbone are not running oc48s or oc192.

    OC3s and gig-es are fairly common place today.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •