hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : howto restart dns on a raq 550
Reply

Forum Jump

howto restart dns on a raq 550

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2003, 04:46 AM
capricornnl capricornnl is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36

howto restart dns on a raq 550


How can I restart the DNS server on a Raq 550 without rebooting the server itself?

John



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-2003, 02:12 AM
MannyT MannyT is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 75
Try (as root) from a shell
rndc status (see if named is running, if not)
/etc/rc.d/init.d/named start

  #3  
Old 06-30-2003, 03:16 AM
capricornnl capricornnl is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Hi Manny,

Both your suggestions resulted in a command not found.

Any other solutions?

John

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-30-2003, 03:31 AM
MannyT MannyT is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 75
On my 550, /etc/rc.d/init.d/named is there. Perhaps trying doing a "ls named" to find where this file is located on your 550.

Odd that this file would be in different locations on a 550 ....

Manny

  #5  
Old 06-30-2003, 03:58 AM
capricornnl capricornnl is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Named is in the dir you mentioned.

rndc status returns a rndc: command not found

also named start returns a named: commmand not found

  #6  
Old 06-30-2003, 04:24 AM
MannyT MannyT is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 75
Hmmm...

Are you "su" in shell?

Or you can try "su -" in shell, and then try:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/named start

Note the space between su and -

Let me know if this works or not...
Manny

  #7  
Old 06-30-2003, 04:34 AM
capricornnl capricornnl is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Yep that worked although the rndc still doesn't.

So is named start the same as restarting it?

  #8  
Old 06-30-2003, 04:40 AM
MannyT MannyT is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 75
I believe so. You can always "stop" then "start" just to make sure, but all the threads I've come across re: this state "start."

Odd about the rndc ....

Manny

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Western Digital Suffers Prolonged My Cloud Service Disruption Web Hosting News 2014-04-05 08:49:58
Loggly Releases New Cloud Management Platform, Receives $10.5M Investment Web Hosting News 2013-09-03 15:25:22
HostGee Introduces Reseller Hosting Program Web Hosting News 2013-06-12 11:02:08
GSA Shutters Government Cloud Services Store Apps.gov Web Hosting News 2012-12-07 15:04:35
Web Host SingleHop Extends Control Panel Functionality with Mobile App Redesign Web Hosting News 2012-04-30 14:20:13


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?