hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : is celeron really bad for hosting?
Reply

Forum Jump

is celeron really bad for hosting?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2003, 07:34 AM
Setheus Setheus is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 117

is celeron really bad for hosting?


i dont know. is it?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-2003, 08:19 AM
NickRac NickRac is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 668
For webhosting, no. For things like mutiple game server hosting, yes.

  #3  
Old 06-25-2003, 08:33 AM
stephenM stephenM is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,023
Celerons are fine. They are generally intended for the lower-budget market (i.e home computers) but they will do if you can't afford a P4 or Xeon, they are highly superiour to the Celeron.

Having said that, Celerons are fine for the lower-load services such as small websites

__________________
Regards,
Stephen Marsh ServerForce Ltd - AS39332

Linux Virtual Servers | Windows Virtual Servers | Managed Hosting | Web Hosting | Reseller Web Hosting | Dedicated Servers

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-25-2003, 08:52 AM
Aussie Bob Aussie Bob is offline
Older than the Internet
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 23,989
Depends what your needs are. If you plan on driving through rough country, then you take the 4x4 instead of the 5 Series BMW.

__________________
• AussieHost.com • Aussie Bob, host since 2001 •
• Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!! •

  #5  
Old 06-25-2003, 09:00 AM
Nymix-CB Nymix-CB is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,375
I don't like Celeron, only P4 here

__________________
Charles Beliveau | NymixWeb.com
Proven success since 2001!

  #6  
Old 06-25-2003, 10:11 AM
NexDog NexDog is offline
Web Hosting God
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Above The Clouds
Posts: 6,796
I find Celeron's have dodgy suspension on the off road stuff though. P4s have nice struts but the ABS can be a bit lacking.

__________________
- Laurence Flynn - atOmicVPS LTD (Post Launch Craziness!)
- OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting [Shared] [Reseller] [Cloud VPS]
- We are LIVE - find out what we are doing for our Post Launch phase!
- Featuring the atOmicSTACK™ - Speed ● Performance ● Stability ●


  #7  
Old 06-25-2003, 11:36 AM
sailor sailor is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 4,419
PIII

go for a PIII instead of a celeron. then you would want to go to either an amd xp2400 or a P4 2.4 and then a Xeon.

dual PIII are also very nice as an in between the xeons and the P4's

__________________
Dedicated Servers
WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
Since 2000

  #8  
Old 06-25-2003, 11:39 AM
LightWeb LightWeb is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 303
I know some use Celerons in their servers, it must work out for them. I personally wouldn't want one in a server, my desktop is a Celeron 466, its been working fine for over 2 years.

  #9  
Old 06-25-2003, 11:59 AM
WebFX WebFX is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 477
Absolutely not! I have found that Intel Celerons are the choice of smaller web hosting companies as I've found they do just fine. They're basically the cheaper alternative to P4s, however you do lose some of the power.

I do agree with sailor's point. Dual P3 servers are not much more expensive and are better web servers.

__________________
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/search.php?s=
Don't just ask point blank questions, search first.

  #10  
Old 06-25-2003, 03:47 PM
networm networm is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 59
Depends on the number of web sites you plan to host on it. If the number is smaller, go ahead. You can always upgrade to a P4 or Xeon when the money starts pouring in.

  #11  
Old 06-25-2003, 03:54 PM
Cirtex Cirtex is offline
WebHostingTalk Lover
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 7,392
Well, i have a Intel Celeron 2.2GHZ and its doing fine

Though i personally like Pentium 4s better
My DELL DIMENSION at home uses p4 2.0ghz

Just wondering, ( Any host here have a Intel Celeron Server, How many domains do you host on it? )

__________________
█• CirtexHosting • Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
█• LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
█• HostV VPS • Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
█• We transfer your sites over quickly! • I eat penguins for breakfast ...

  #12  
Old 06-25-2003, 04:29 PM
illuzhen777 illuzhen777 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kenilworth, IL
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
Depends what your needs are. If you plan on driving through rough country, then you take the 4x4 instead of the 5 Series BMW.
How about Celeron = 3 series, P4 = 5 series, xeon = 7 series

or mercedes...
celeron = c class, p4 = e class, xeon = s class [600 of course]... =)

  #13  
Old 06-25-2003, 04:58 PM
BCRob BCRob is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 43
But where does that leave my M3?
It'll beat the pants off some wimpy run of the mill 5 series any day. So... M = 1GB RAM? OK, maybe I've gone too far with this... I just got a little defensive about my zippy little car being called a celeron

  #14  
Old 06-25-2003, 05:07 PM
NyteOwl NyteOwl is offline
ThirtySx Bits Forever!
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,284
The new Celerons are basically P3's at heart. And considering teh number of RAQ 4's still in widespread use (K6-2/450MHz) a Celeron would do a fairly good job for the average hosting needs.

__________________
"Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination."

  #15  
Old 06-25-2003, 05:18 PM
seltice seltice is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 58
What kind of sites do you plan to host? What kind of background processes will be running? Anything special?

__________________
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Seltice Systems
www.seltice.com
Web Hosting, E-Mail, Domains

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - August 22, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-08-22 11:36:10
Ideal-Hosting UG Listing 2014-01-06 19:15:27
Hosting-Mexicoยฎ Listing 2014-01-06 19:09:53
Empire Hosting Listing 2013-12-03 21:38:28
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - October 5, 2012 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:36


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?