hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Blacklist Clarification
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

Blacklist Clarification

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2003, 04:07 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028

Blacklist Clarification


I know I have a "rbl" thread started, but just need some clarification on the following please. Does this mean that OUR server cannot send to the OTHER server because WE'RE blacked or that OTHER server cannot send to OUR server because THEY'RE blacklisted:

> ------- attachment begins --------
> The original message was received at Sat, 7 Jun 2003 23:52:48 +0800
> (MYT) from j154.jrc35.jaring.my [61.6.124.168]
>
> ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> <user@domain.com>
> (reason: 550 mail from 61.6.32.59 rejected: administrative
> prohibition (host is blacklisted))
>
> ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> ... while talking to domain.com.:
>>>> DATA
> <<< 550 mail from 61.6.32.59 rejected: administrative prohibition (host
> is blacklisted) 550 5.1.1 <user@domain.com>... User unknown <<< 503
> Valid RCPT TO <recipient> must precede DATA
> ------- attachment ends --------
>
> Host blacklisted!!!! What the ... :O

User@domain.com is my customer who this happened to.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-2003, 04:20 PM
GideonX GideonX is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
means your IP is blacklisted

__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2003, 04:34 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028
You sure? I've read this about 40 times and keep interpreting it differently

When you say "YOUR"... do you mean 61.6.32.59?

Thanks for putting up with me today

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-10-2003, 04:49 PM
GideonX GideonX is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
> ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> <user@domain.com>
> (reason: 550 mail from 61.6.32.59 rejected: administrative
> prohibition (host is blacklisted))

that means the following, which is user@domain.com, is blacklisted.

here's a few lists:

http://dsbl.org/listing?ip=61.6.32.59
http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S2062 <- seems to be down

__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2003, 04:59 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028
61.6.32.59 is not our server IP... could this be my clients ISP maybe?

Here's the info for our IP: http://dsbl.org/listing?ip=207.44.144.8

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2003, 05:21 PM
GideonX GideonX is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
ok, from what you said:

Quote:
User@domain.com is my customer who this happened to.
i assumed user@domain.com -> 61.6.32.59

if that's your clients very own ISP's domain, then that's their problem, not yours.

quick summary: your client is using his home ISP to send out email, gets rejected from destination because clients ISP's IP is blocked. hope that makes sense.

__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2003, 05:25 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028
Ed, I appreciate your help through this. Finally making some sense to me. That IP must be his ISP ip, cause it's nothing close to the server IP.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2003, 05:26 PM
GideonX GideonX is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
no problem

__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce


Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
New Internet Censorship Law in Russia Requires Web Hosts, ISPs to Block Illegal Websites Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 12:06:43
Certificate Authority Comodo Releases Website Malware Scanning Tool SiteInspector Web Hosting News 2012-04-04 18:26:44
WorldHostingDays / MegaUpload clarification Blog 2012-03-27 13:45:23
Attracta SEO Tools to be Bundled with cPanel Control Panel Web Hosting News 2011-10-12 16:17:42
Email Security Firm eleven Expects Obselecense of Blacklist Anti-Spam Solutions Web Hosting News 2011-09-15 17:03:15


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?