hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Differences between Pentium 4 and Xeon

Forum Jump

Differences between Pentium 4 and Xeon

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2003, 03:20 PM
Web Hosting Evangelist

Differences between Pentium 4 and Xeon

Hi all,

I'm not an expert in the specifics of processors, but I'm thinking of setting up a dedicated test environment to test all my projects and to allow clients to connect to see their project so far.

Before I buy a system, I'd like to know more details on the differences between the different processors. Here are my questions:

1. What are the differences between a Pentium 4 and a Xeon processor and what makes one better than the other (does Xeon support HT)?

2. Are there advantages of Intel processors over AMD processors? Which ones are better?

Anything else that I should consider when purchasing a server? I have a copy of Solaris 8 that I will use as the OS for the server.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Max

Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2003, 06:14 PM
ThirtySx Bits Forever!

The difference between the P4 and the Xeon are more or less superficial and more a matter of marketing than technologies.

The Xeon line is certified for multi-processor machines while the P4 is not.

The latest P4's and Xeons both have HyperThreading, the same cache, the same core logic, the same performance on a per cpu basis.

They have two separate lines mostly for financial reasons. While AMD simply uses a change in the bridges on the cpu to limit this (which is why its so easy to trick dual AMD boards into using non-mp processors), Intel uses a completely different (physically) interface (ie socket) to prevent people from getting around paying for a more expensive product.