Careful of canaca.com for a couple of reasons:
They are resellers for communitech.net (check their IP address--it's owned by communitech.net). They also offer plans that are identical to the communitech.net reseller plans. This could be a major problem because if you buy from them and then they allow you to resell under their resellers agreement, and then they either leave communitech.net or do something that gets them kicked off, you lose not only your account but all accounts you have resold (because canaca had resold them to you and they have to keep their account open in order for your account to remain open). They also post numerous questions in communitech's support forums (including one complaining about communitech's name being in the header of an email that went to their clients):
QUOTE:
Any E-mail that was sent to me at canaca.com came with this information with it, at the end of the page.
From sandrolina@sympatico.ca Mon May 31 01:22:10 1999
Return-Path: <sandrolina@sympatico.ca>
Received: from smtp11.bellglobal.com ([204.101.251.53]) by mars.communitech.net ; Mon, 31 May 1999 01:22:10 -600
Received: from sandro.bellglobal.com (HSE-TOR-ppp35061.sympatico.ca [209.226.131.160])
by smtp11.bellglobal.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id CAA13945
for <canaca@canaca.com>; Mon, 31 May 1999 02:24:51 -0400 (EDT)
Message-Id: <4.1.19990531022337.0093a1e0>
X-Sender: b1pjfo06@pop1.sympatico.ca
X-Mailer: QUALCOMM Windows Eudora Pro Version 4.1
Date: Mon, 31 May 1999 02:23:49 -0700
To: canaca@canaca.com
From: sandrolina <sandrolina@sympatico.ca>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
I also would think that our clients got the same thing.
[This message has been edited by canaca (edited May 31, 1999).]
END QUOTE
What troubles me most about canaca.com is that they also operate under the domain name nortel.to. Nortel is a large communications corporation that will probably not take kindly to some reseller of web hosting using their good name and reputation to resell hosting while pretending that they are the actual owners of the servers. When the real Nortel come down on canaca.com's nortel.to shell, well...I'd hate to be depending on them to be reselling services to me so that I kind resell them to some poor slob who doesn't know enough to thoroughly check out their host...
Just my 2 cents.