hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : How to check speed of a host?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to check speed of a host?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2003, 09:45 PM
Setheus Setheus is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 117

How to check speed of a host?


or website?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-2003, 09:47 PM
kidfive5 kidfive5 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 31

  #3  
Old 05-24-2003, 09:58 PM
coight coight is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,383
I would not only use that as an indication of speed, the results will favour hosts that are closer to where the datacentre for the server is. You could be getting 5-10ms ping replies however the host may have placed 500 sites on one server causing a massive slowdown.

Best place to go is a hosts forum and get some urls test the speed.

Although I might use those results
Attached Images
File Type: gif host.gif (6.8 KB, 131 views)

__________________
Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
http://www.solidinternet.com
8 Years of hosting excellence!

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:04 PM
NationHosts NationHosts is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,975
I don't think that's the best way to tell the speed of a host as some hosts can have several servers.

__________________
Nationhosts, LLC
http://www.nationhosts.com
"Nationwide hosting solutions"

  #5  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:06 PM
sprintserve sprintserve is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,004
Can the poster define "speed" ?

__________________
Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
http://www.sprintserve.net
Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

  #6  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:11 PM
idologicJeff idologicJeff is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London Ontario, Canada
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally posted by kidfive5
http://www.webhostdir.com/toolkit/comparehosts.asp
This only tells you about the network between webhostdir.com and what ever hosts you plug in.

In general ping speeds are network specific, which unfortunately isn't a great indication.

i. There may be a slow link between the source ping and destination machine.
ii. Most (good) webhosting machines have more than 1 network connection, therefore you're only measuring one network.

I know this isn't terribly helpful, but I don't want you accept the gospel according to ping either.

Cheers
Jeff

__________________
www.idologic.com
www.demologic.com
A company committed to people serious about their websites - If you don't DO LOGIC - what do you do?Check Us Out



Last edited by idologicJeff; 05-24-2003 at 10:35 PM.
  #7  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:22 PM
Setheus Setheus is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 117
I want to compare the speed of my host to my other hosts. How do you go about doing that?

  #8  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:32 PM
Douglas Douglas is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, Jawja
Posts: 3,064
Quote:
Originally posted by kidfive5
http://www.webhostdir.com/toolkit/comparehosts.asp
Some hosts, like me and my uplink, stop pings and tracerts at the gateway to cut down on DDoS and DoS attacks. That's not a good test to run, IMHO.

__________________
Douglas Hazard - Certifiable Sports Junkie and Sports Community Enthusiast

Host of Two Cents Radio - Follow @TwoCentsRadio on Twitter (@BearlyDoug on Twitter)

  #9  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:30 PM
Setheus Setheus is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 117
then how guys?

  #10  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:33 PM
VNPIXEL VNPIXEL is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,903
Quote:
Originally posted by Setheus
I want to compare the speed of my host to my other hosts. How do you go about doing that?
Do a ping on your host and other host then compare.

__________________
◊ James | sales@vnpixel.com |
◊ aim: vnpixel msn: support@vnpixel.com yahoo: vn_pixel
◊ http://www.vnpixel.com

  #11  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:34 PM
ENH Jonathan ENH Jonathan is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 201
Sethus, get them to put a download test file on the server they plan on putting you on. Download it and you'll have your answer right there.

  #12  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:34 PM
VNPIXEL VNPIXEL is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,903
Quote:
Originally posted by Myacen
I would not only use that as an indication of speed, the results will favour hosts that are closer to where the datacentre for the server is. You could be getting 5-10ms ping replies however the host may have placed 500 sites on one server causing a massive slowdown.

Best place to go is a hosts forum and get some urls test the speed.

Although I might use those results
yup. last time i got excused for ads when i posted this result. The tool is not working.

__________________
◊ James | sales@vnpixel.com |
◊ aim: vnpixel msn: support@vnpixel.com yahoo: vn_pixel
◊ http://www.vnpixel.com

  #13  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:39 PM
snickn snickn is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 4,447
Just to put it into perspective..

I did a test with :

www.lunarpages.com (great connection, california)
www.google.com (obviously good connectivity, multiple datacenters over US)
nuub.valdosta.edu (my house, valdosta, ga)
arpa.com (servercentral.net, equinix chicago)

First place...<drumroll please>....my house. Ok, you know, I have my doubts that if I provide webhosting out of my house it'll be faster than the 3 above GOOD datacenters.

Second place..arpa.com (correct I'm sure, servercentral.net is 3 hops from 12 different GigE backbones i believe still)

Either way, my guess would be that this server is definately on the east coast, probably mid to southeast.

Just shows you how misleading the results could be.

cheers,
nick

  #14  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:55 PM
ntwaddel ntwaddel is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 818
some hosts have icmp disabled, then how do you test the speed?

__________________
Nick Twaddell
WebSpace Solutions - Custom E-Solutions
Fast, Reliable, Affordable Web Hosting

  #15  
Old 05-25-2003, 07:23 PM
fshost fshost is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 380
Mine timed out, so yes, it would be an unfair comparison.

__________________
Send all e-mail to
abuse@spews.org


Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?