Thread: Google AdWords

Google AdWords

Just started a Google AdWords campaign today. I researched it for awhile as the cost for the most popular keywords can be quite expensive. I was able to find several keywords directed at my target audience while avoiding the most popular ones....still resulting in a first page position with a modest click per day forcast. I guess I will see how it goes as this is my first attempt using google for ads.

For those who have in the past or currently use adwords, what are your thoughts and opinions on it? My expectations for results are low so I am not expecting it to drive a large amount of traffic to my site. I will play around with keyword usage and cost per click to try and find a median location that works well.

It comes and goes in spurts.

Some weeks i get 60 signups from my google campaign, some weeks i get 2.

Advertising online, especially in the hosting market is risky. Like everyone else has stated, try and attack your local market and see what happens. Easier to build up there.

Online its tougher and tougher as people are giving away the farm for very little cash.

I spend about 500 a month on adwords and generally make a return most of the time.

Sometimes i just want to stop advertising at all.

Re: Google AdWords

Originally posted by savageghost
    modest click per day
    One tip: Don't put too much faith in that. There's no way for the system to know how effective your newly-created ad really will be in getting people to click on it. So that "forecast" is really an almost-random guess.

Other basic advice: create a few different ad groups with several ads in each. Track the effectiveness of each ad, modifying or deleting those that don't work, but also watch the effectiveness of each for each keyword phrase. Avoid letting an ineffective keyword bring down the overall clickthru rate of a given ad, or the entire ad can be suspended.