* Questions for resellers

I have no experience with reselling, and am interested in understanding how it works. I'm presuming a model in which resellers get a steep discount off the plans the parent host ordinarily sells, as opposed to the model in which the reseller just gets a big hunk of disk and bandwidth.

Specifically:

* Does the parent host generally provide tools for tracking resellers' customers' information and billing history, even credit cards? How does the billing process usually work?

* Does the parent host generally allow the reseller to offer real-time signup? Or do resellers have to manually review and enter each order of theirs?

* Does the parent host generally require the reseller to have one or more SSL certificate?

* Does the parent host generally provide a brandable control panel for the reseller's customers to use?

* Does the reseller have full administrative control over his customers' accounts, including the ability to disable and delete them, as well as change users' passwords?

* What other essential features constitute a decent reseller program?

Thanks for any replies!
    John Masterson
    Former Hosting Company Owner

* the majority of resellers have to make provisions for tracking and charing their own customers, this is for the type of reseller hosting that involves buying a set package and reselling it how you see fit, the kind that involves selling a product in bulk for a discount.

* again depending on the product offered resellers must create their own signup, if the reseller's financial transactions all take place on a third partys website ie worldpay, 2 checkout then no SSL certificate is required.

*most control panels are themeable and logos can be customised.

*depends on the control panel.

*depending on the original package offered there are many features that can be included in a reseller account. you'd really have to look around to decide what suits you.