
05-02-2003, 04:31 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 61
|
|
domain-renewal.biz - Who are they?
I have had two interesting emails AKA Spam from domain-renewal.biz - They are a london based company who are advising me that my domain (a .biz) is due to expire (Nov 2003) and that I should renew it with them. But, (for my sins) I had registered the domain initially with easyspace.com and am now curious what what would happen if I renewed with them (not that I would)... and how would they be able to renew my domain if it was registered with easyspace?
Possible scam ? or legitimate way of renewing .biz domains?
Last edited by jayp; 05-02-2003 at 04:36 AM.
|

05-02-2003, 06:24 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 68
|
|
Looks like a scam to me, what is your domain name? Is it still registered with easyspace, check this by doing a whois search on the domain.
|

05-02-2003, 06:39 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 61
|
|
Hi Xreg,
The domain is still with easyspace, I thought that this was a scam.
(extract from whois for my domain)Sponsoring Registrar:EASYSPACE LTD.
I am wondering how many people have actually taken this seriously and followed through with their request.
Here is an extract their whois:
Domain Registration Date: Thu Apr 24 20:08:36 GMT 2003
Domain Expiration Date: Sat Apr 23 23:59:59 GMT 2005
|

05-02-2003, 06:43 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 68
|
|
I'd avise you to ignore them, along as you renew your domain with your registrar the domain will stay valid.
|

05-02-2003, 06:54 AM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,982
|
|
Send in a spam report....too many of such spam emails running around 
|

05-02-2003, 07:02 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 61
|
|
Who should I send the report , which organisation will treat it seriously and really give them a kick up the bum/ass.
|

05-02-2003, 07:10 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 68
|
|
First inform your registrar, easyspace. Then inform tucows as they are the registrar for domain-renewal.com and finally send a complaint to ICANN:
http://reports.internic.net/cgi/regi...lem-report.cgi
You could also report the email you received as spam to several spam organisations.
|

05-02-2003, 08:42 AM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,982
|
|
spamcop.net is a good one, I use it daily. 
|

05-02-2003, 08:44 AM
|
|
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 2,530
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by anon-e-mouse
spamcop.net is a good one, I use it daily.
|
me too, I do loose some time to do it, but I think everyone should do it.
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|