hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Running a Web Hosting Business : Stargate vs Godaddy
Reply

Forum Jump

Stargate vs Godaddy

View Poll Results: Wich registrar is better
Stargate 19 63.33%
GoDaddy 11 36.67%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Post New Thread In Running a Web Hosting Business Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2001, 03:14 PM
Billy Billy is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 58

Stargate vs Godaddy


Okay,I am down to deciding between 2 registrars,they both have about the same price,and both i have heard nothing but good about them.So what is your opinion?
Stargate is a LITTLE cheaper....but godaddy is an approved(not reseller) registrar.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-2001, 03:47 PM
freeva freeva is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 166
Stargate is also an approved registrar.
The following link has a list of registrar. You might want to check it out. http://www.icann.org/registrars/accredited-list.html

I personally like stargate a little better, but it really upto you.

  #3  
Old 06-22-2001, 09:42 PM
Billy Billy is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 58
<edit>Sorry,I didnt realize</edit>


Last edited by Billy; 06-23-2001 at 06:51 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-22-2001, 10:11 PM
alpha alpha is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,747
i voted for stargate

__________________
██ John Han @ atomicVPS LTD
██ OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting [Shared] [Reseller] [VPS]
██ Featuring the atomicSTACK engineered for Speed, Performance, and Stability

  #5  
Old 06-22-2001, 10:54 PM
Ideasmiths Ideasmiths is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 17
Question about stargate

I had tons of problem registering two of my domain names at godaddy (for over 1 month I have tried). I finally used stargate.

Question is now that I have the domain name and I am using the URL forwarding feature to send users to a static IP address.

It didn't work. Am I doing something wrong here? Or should I fiddle around with the DNS management, create my own nameservers or something like that?

I don't have this problem with nameboy, I use click in the IP address and all my traffic gets redirected correctly.

Thanks

__________________
Make your lives easier

  #6  
Old 06-22-2001, 10:58 PM
alpha alpha is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,747
make sure your DNS is point to stargateinc's nameservers... and after you change the DNS, you have to wait at least 24 hours before you will see the actual domain forwarding...

if you already have the DNS pointint to stargate's nameservers and its not working, until until an afternoon and check to see if they have their humanclick support person online... then just ask them

g'luck

__________________
██ John Han @ atomicVPS LTD
██ OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting [Shared] [Reseller] [VPS]
██ Featuring the atomicSTACK engineered for Speed, Performance, and Stability

  #7  
Old 06-22-2001, 11:01 PM
peachtreewebworks peachtreewebworks is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Atlanta. Georgia
Posts: 252
If you have a static IP to forward to, shouldn't you be using Stargate's DNS Panel tab to set an A record (or something like that) instead of the URL Forwarding?

Just a thought...

__________________
Peachtree WebWorks, LLC
http://www.peachtreewebworks.com

  #8  
Old 06-23-2001, 12:54 AM
Ideasmiths Ideasmiths is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 17
I'll try the DNS setting

Thanks,

I was confused. I thought the URL forwarding would work. Seem like I have to use the DNS Panel to set a Address and MX record to point to my host's static IP address.

That is correct right?

I am a bit confused here, I have a host with a static IP with an existing site there. I need to test out my two new domain names and is constructing the pages for them. So at index.php I check the referrer http and redirect to the appropriate subdomains

But how about pop3 mails? Do I set a MX record that points to my static IP and all mails can be retrieved there?

PS: I have humanclicked stargate, but my browser keep hanging
when I click the submit button.

__________________
Make your lives easier


Last edited by Ideasmiths; 06-23-2001 at 01:00 AM.
  #9  
Old 06-23-2001, 02:48 AM
MuStie MuStie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8
* Stargate is nothing but the best !!!!

Well all i have is good experiences with stargateinc
I have around 15 domains with them and even when i had problems with my Creditcard which had been charged 2 times for same domains i was refunded as soon as i told them. Good Customer support.
but dont try to email their sales staff cause they never reply...
*Hint* if you wanna contact them click on FAq's and there you will find humanclick where an support staff will answer and help you with all your queries.

Stargateinc Voted No.1 ( atleast by me)

MuStie

http://www.hostingguru.com
*The truth is out here*

  #10  
Old 06-23-2001, 04:55 AM
DHWWnet DHWWnet is offline
NOC DOC :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 866
stargate

  #11  
Old 06-23-2001, 10:13 AM
cbaker17 cbaker17 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Wichita, Ks, USA
Posts: 1,984
wasnt even going to bother to vote but

I wasnt even going to bother to vote but since everyones voting for stargate, i will, we have hundreds of domains with godaddy with not a single problem yet.

__________________
affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
Charles Baker - Company Operations
1-866-316-HOST

  #12  
Old 06-23-2001, 03:49 PM
Helper Ant Helper Ant is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 44
* GODADDY!

Is the best ever!

I have 5 domains wth them..

  #13  
Old 06-23-2001, 08:01 PM
johnnycs johnnycs is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: AZ
Posts: 67
Angry

24h ago I sing up with Stargate for hosting/free domain.
So far I have no conformations #, no hosting info, and the domain that I register is still available to register. Does not look gOOd.
I think I will stay with 000domains.com

  #14  
Old 06-23-2001, 08:23 PM
Billy Billy is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 58
Doesnt it say it takes 24-48 hours?

  #15  
Old 06-23-2001, 10:42 PM
pootp pootp is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 10
just registered 2 domains with stargate today.. they were registered instantly, and a confirmation email sent right away.. good stuffs...

but this is without registering for their hosting plans..

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
GoDaddy Listing 2014-07-30 14:23:29
GoDaddy Listing 2014-07-30 14:23:29
GoDaddy Listing 2014-07-30 14:23:30
GoDaddy Listing 2014-07-30 14:23:30
GoDaddy Listing 2014-07-30 14:23:29


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?