PhotonVPS very unreliable

I've been using Linux VPS for a while since I worked as a web dev freelance, and it was fairly good experience with them. They have very low cost, and never went down for 2 years.

All websites I created were in PHP and MySQL, and some sites were built with Wordpress, customized themes and plugins, so that my client can actually go into admin pages, and update web pages on their own. I had to add some codes to these themes and plugins to meet my clients' requirements, so I hesitated to get any Wordpress related updates as well as server updates, because I was afraid they would overwrite my customized codes.

After about 2 years, the Linux VPS server suddenly started to go down frequently (like, 3 times a week) and it was no useful anymore. It might be because of no server update/no Wordpress update, or maybe the server is just too old.

Then I wanted to use MS Windows Server 2008 (just because it had nicer GUI than Linux), although I'll still be just using PHP and MySQL. I googled for some available MS server VPS hostings, but didn't want to pay $100+ monthly. I happened to find this PhotonVPS hosting company. Low cost, and nice-looking web site, and fairly good reviews and some bad reviews. Sometimes it's hard to tell until I actually try it out, so I decided to give it a try.

Fast setup only if you contact them, fast response - sentences are kind of 'terse', but no problem for me, nice admin interface from their website, some bits of information seemed incorrect, but no big deal. After all is setup, they send you a nice long email saying that the server is ready. Then it took me a while to figure out that I had to create a 'virtual machine' under my account to actually have the MS Windows Server running. They helped me out setting it up, so nice customer service experience there.