* First VPS server...could use advice

Hello everyone,
    I've been running game servers on my home network for a while now, but have decided to migrate out.

The game binaries are very slim, running on my Debian system they only use up a few MBs of ram and minimal CPU resources.

As such I was thinking of going with a VPS server, as I have no need for true dedicated hardware, and bandwidth usage will be modest(2-3TB monthly).

I'd like to start with something cheap and simple, and have settled on these 4 providers:
    VPSCheap.net
    AzzaVPS.com
    cinfu.com
    rethinkvps.com

I'm leaning towards VPSCheap because their promo rate is so low I won't be losing anything after a 1/2 month cancellation. But again I have no experience with servers and don't know what to look for.

If anyone could offer advice or point me in the right direction, it'd be greatly appreciated.

For the sake of not opening another newbie thread, can someone also explain what all the different types of control panels are about? I was hoping to simply control the server via remote-desktop(VNC). Is this feasible?

Thanks again.

First thing I would recommend is reading the Terms Of Service and AUP of the providers very carefully.

Some game server setups can be very resource intensive and can cause problems to other VPS containers on the Node. If you are not careful you could find your VPS suspended for resource abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Kam View Post
    First thing I would recommend is reading the Terms Of Service and AUP of the providers very carefully.

Some game server setups can be very resource intensive and can cause problems to other VPS containers on the Node. If you are not careful you could find your VPS suspended for resource abuse.
    Fair enough, but I'm serious when I say resource usage is minimal. The game binaries have less ram/cpu usage than a text editor.