Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    1xC19 to 2xC14 Splitter

    Is it possible to get a C19->2xC14 power cable splitter?

    I need to power a PDU which requires 240v 16A using a C20 plug, but the only power sources I have right now are multiple 240v 8A C13 scokets. So I would like to use multiple 2x8A C13 sockets to power a single C20 PDU. Possible?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    491
    Quote Originally Posted by crucialx View Post
    Is it possible to get a C19->2xC14 power cable splitter?

    I need to power a PDU which requires 240v 16A using a C20 plug, but the only power sources I have right now are multiple 240v 8A C13 scokets. So I would like to use multiple 2x8A C13 sockets to power a single C20 PDU. Possible?
    They do not exist for good reason. You can use one and be limited by it's breaker but you can never combine two random circuits and hope it works. Assuming it's wired correctly your still never going to get even resistance on each leg so you will end up popping one breaker and then the other as you get close to capacity.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    63
    Hi there,

    No, this isn't possible - just think what would happen if/when you have one C14 leg connected to the supply/PDU and the other plug is loose in your hand with bare and live terminals...

    For the record, a C13/C14 is rated for up to 10A and a C19/C20 is for up to 16A in the UK. If you have only a PDU with C13 outlets and a PDU that has a C20 input then get a single C14 to C19 but of course the maximum draw would be 10A. These are readily available: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=C14+to+C19

    All the best,

    Matthew
    www.netwisehosting.co.uk | High-value, low-cost UK Dedicated Server and Colocation solutions.

    > Operating from our own private London Data Centre; test our network here.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    63
    I may be mistaken Dave, but I think the OP wanted it the other way around!
    www.netwisehosting.co.uk | High-value, low-cost UK Dedicated Server and Colocation solutions.

    > Operating from our own private London Data Centre; test our network here.

  6. #6
    I just re-read it... 2 x 8Amp power sources *spliced together* to power one power input of a 16A device, Please don't come to my datacenter! lol

  7. #7
    Thanks everyone for the answers, that's exactly what I was looking for. I thought there was a reason why there wasn't such a cable available. Will need to find another solution

Similar Threads

  1. 3+ Way Power Splitter/Y-Cable (5-15R to C13)
    By Rebies in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 04:24 PM
  2. C20/C14 to C13 splitter
    By Jay Suds in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-14-2010, 08:05 AM
  3. Power Splitter/Y-Cable Source
    By Elevate in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-31-2007, 09:02 PM
  4. Such Thing As USB Hub or Y Splitter USB Cable for Printer
    By KyleLC23 in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-22-2004, 03:51 PM
  5. Sql Dump Splitter
    By TheAnarchist in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •