n00b needs help with php.ini

I am relatively new with VPS and know enough to mess things up.

I have a vas with Centos and Kloxo, it has a wordpress install and is running over it's memory limits - its currently set on the php side for 32mb. I'm trying to update it to 128mb.

I know this needs to be changed in php.ini - but I can't find that file or really know where to look, is this something I can find with FTP or do I need to use SSH to locate it? If it's SSH can I edit over the terminal?

I know these are probably really basic questions so bear with me, any advice and help is appreciated.

You can create a file named php.ini and edit it. This can be done via FTP or terminal, wherever you're more comfortable

Like AcclaimedHost stated you can just create a php.ini and edit it. Otherwise it may be referencing your .htaccess file which if the php.ini isn't found in your directory I would suggest not creating one. sometimes this can cause problems if the website references both the .htaccess and php.ini. I would recommend contacting your host to modify this value if your not sure how.

You can try following.
    1) Add following code in public_html/.htaccess file of your website.
    Code:
    php_value memory_limit 32M

2) create a new file php.ini in public_html folder of your website. Now add following code in this php.ini
    Code:
    memory_limit = 32M

3) If you want to increase php memory on entire server. Open /etc/php.ini file in a text editor and make following changes.
    Code:
    memory_limit = 32M
    YagHost - Pure SSD Hosting | Since 2007 | Average Response Time: 15 min
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Managed VPS Hosting
    99.9% Server Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Rapid Response Tech Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
    LopHost.com - Web Hosting Tutorials

Quote Originally Posted by vspakid View Post
    I am relatively new with VPS and know enough to mess things up.